Archive for May 14, 2009

Inspiration and Intuition

Posted in Uncategorized on May 14, 2009 by stevemccurry

What inspires me?  Henri Cartier Bresson’s work has been an inspiration to me, but people living their everyday lives inspire me too. 

Fishermen cleaning nets, families sharing meals and celebrations, artisans crafting their wares, nomads continually on the move; even the most seemingly mundane activities can be inspirational when you look beneath the surface.

People ask me how I can identify the best moment to take a photograph.  I tell them that it is intuitive and reflexive.  You’re never sure of the moment because you’re always looking and anticipating.  You’re never quite sure when the moment is right, because it can either peak or evaporate.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,428 other followers