Archive for June 1, 2009

Back in Kabul

Posted in Uncategorized on June 1, 2009 by stevemccurry

It was great to be back in Kabul recently for an exhibition of my pictures at Bagh-e-Babur Queen’s Palace and to give a workshop for Afghan photographers.  The exhibition was the first of its kind since the fall of the Taliban, and I wanted to show the beauty of the country and its culture to the people who have had to endure decades of war and privation.  Afghanistan has had a special place in my heart since my first visit in 1979.  I have had the opportunity and privilege to get to know many Afghans over the years and it is a place that I will always consider very special.  Afghans are well known for their hospitality, and every time I visit, I feel like I’ve never left.

Thanks to generous donations, we were able to host students from 37 schools, orphanages, and universities.  Soon the exhibition will be traveling to Herat in the western part of the country, and I hope to open the exhibit and give workshops for journalists, photographers, and university students there.   There are few things as satisfying and enjoyable as spending time with people of such great courage and perseverance.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,410 other followers