Kodak To Discontinue Kodachrome

I want to take the last roll with me and somehow make every frame count just as a way to honor the memory and always be able to look back with fond memories at how it capped and ended my shooting Kodachrome.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/06/23/technology/companies/23kodak.html

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB124567093975236801.html

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/shopping_blog/2009/06/kodak-discontinues-kodachrome-film.html

http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5hNE3DMbUR1JFgMdyf_i5s4aDM9rQD98VNPP81

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article6557848.ece

7 Responses to “Kodak To Discontinue Kodachrome”

  1. I was really a shocking news for me also when I hard that they’ll stop Kodachrome. It was one of my favorite slide !

  2. I walked into a train station today and checked out a small photo shop while I was waiting for my train. To my amazement, the guy had 4 rolls of Kodachrome 64 on the shelf along with a bunch of other film. When I asked if if that was Kodachrome (since it was slightly hidden in the corner and I wasn’t sure if I had really seen it, or if I was just hallucinating) he didn’t even know what I was talking about (that’s the digital revolution for you!) but I managed to direct his attention to them and get him to give me one, which I bought right away.

    I considered it a pretty lucky find since even my local pro shop doesn’t have any for sale. I have only taken up photography in the last year, and film photography only quite recently, and so when I heard that this famous film would be discontinued, I was disappointed that I would never get a chance to use it.

    So now I will. I have never shot a roll of slide film in my life, so I have no idea of what to expect (well OK, some idea…but I’ve only read about it, that’s all) but hopefully I will get something worth keeping. Wish me luck!

    PS: I love your work, which has been nothing but a total inspiration for me in my own fledgling attempts at photography!

  3. I remember reading that you would get the last roll. What an honor! I was telling Mallory T about this over dinner one night.

  4. Sofia Violante Says:

    I just love the Ungarded Moment book. It made me cry.
    Kodachrome is part of collective memory in photography. I wish i can keep some rolls.

  5. Never shot Kodachrome, but I understand your feeling since I just found my first slides taken in Velvia. A completely different feeling compared to digital.

  6. I got my first roll of Kodachrome film at the Daily Collegian. Can’t remember who gave it to me; Randy Woodbury maybe or Ira.

    Going to see your show at the Palmer Museum tomorrow.

    Hope all is well!

    Steve Williams
    Scooter in the Sticks

  7. I just came across your work via a kodachrome slideshow from kodak. here: http://www.kodak.com/eknec/PageQuerier.jhtml?pq-path=15398&pq-locale=en_US&_requestid=1627

    Your work is amazing, the Sri Lanka fishermen shot is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,995 other followers

