Archive for September 9, 2010

In Memoriam

Posted in Uncategorized with tags , , , on September 9, 2010 by stevemccurry

USA-10273

I had just returned from Tibet the night before. I had not unpacked my luggage or camera bag. Shortly after nine o’clock when I heard of the attack, I went up on the roof of my apartment building and watched both towers billowing smoke.

USA-10009

I photographed the second tower collapsing at 10:28 AM. After shooting from the top of my building, I walked down to Ground Zero at noon, and stayed until late that night when all my film was gone, but I couldn’t bring myself to leave.

USA-10010NF

Later,  as I walked back home, I was struck at how life slowly seemed to come back to near normal the further you walked away from Ground Zero. It was strange listening to conversations of people who seemed to be unaware of the magnitude of this incredible event. I wanted to go up and shake people and say, “Don’t you realize that this is probably the most important day in your life?’”

USA-10011NF3

This is a photograph on the morning of September 12th, of search-and-rescue teams.

USA-10012NF

View of the lobby of Two World Financial Centre

USA-10271

I was amazed by the vast amount of office paper and dust all over lower Manhattan.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,233 other followers