The Art of Timing

“Sometimes being a friend means mastering the art of timing.  There is a time for silence.  A time to let go and allow people to hurl themselves into their own destiny, and a time to prepare to pick up the pieces when it’s all over.” – Gloria Naylor

SOUTH_AFRICA-10007-(1) Cape Town,  South Africa

” We cannot tell the precise moment when friendship is formed. As in filling a vessel drop by drop, there is at last a drop which makes it run over; so in a series of kindnesses there is at last one which makes the heart run over.”
- Samuel Johnson

INDIA-11102Darjeeling, India

MOROCCO-10046Morocco

“True friendship is a plant of slow growth, and must undergo and withstand the shocks of adversity, before it is entitled to the appellation.”
- George Washington

BURMA-10236Pagan, Burma

YUGOSLAVIA-10051Croatia

GERMANY-10020Germany

KASHMIR-10080Kashmir

“What is a friend?  A single soul dwelling in two bodies.”  – Aristotle

YEMEN-10094Yemen

SOUTH_AFRICA-10005NFCape Town, South Africa

AFGHN-10262Kabul, Afghanistan

YEMEN-10065NFYemen

INDONESIA-10008Indonesia

INDIA-10679NF2Mumbai, India

“Friendship is a slow-ripening fruit.”  – Aristotle

INDIA-10989India

TIBET-10804Tibet

“Hold a true friend with both your hands.”  –  Nigerian Proverb

INDIA-10801India

INDIA-10016NF2nsIndia

47 Responses to “The Art of Timing”

  1. The 2x2s! Great shots!

  2. beni ale Says:

    exceptional, incredible, and amazing! It’s 4 humanitirian!

  3. beni ale Says:

    exceptional, incredible, and amazing! Timing of those photography 4 all human beings..

  4. Partha Sur Says:

    You shoot black and white photographs … in color. They are wonderful … because they are above all honest and truthful and from the heart. Every student of photography should study your photos to learn … no book can teach what you do in your photos.

  5. Cormac Kelleher Says:

    Absolutely stunning images! What can I say ?…I teach English to refugees in Dublin and I am bringing them to your exhibition in the Gallery of photography. It would be fantastic if you could give a talk to them about your work as I know you will be over here soon. If you have time it would be much appreciated. CK

  6. Margarida Says:

    I am very touched by your photos. They fill me with wonder, joy or profound sadness. Most important of all, they motivate me to be a better human being.

  7. Margarida Says:

    I am very touched by your photos. They go direct to my heart. They fill me with wonder, joy or profound sadness. Most important of all, they motivate me to be a better human being.

  8. Hemali kapadia Says:

    Loved your work !!!! m almost speechless whenever i see every shot…

  9. Flor del Cupatitzio Says:

    Cuántas historias de amigos, qué belleza! Aristóteles tenía razón
    bendiciones

  10. It is a beautiful serie well served by these beautiful words and magic instants captured.
    thanks for sharing.

  11. Josh Bergeron Says:

    THE master… photojournalism CAN be beautiful…

  12. Girls in the swing … is for me one of my favorite scenes. Joy breathe openly and with great kindness. The association with the friendship between the two sheep is an exceptional originality. The set reminds me a haven of peace. Thank you for those magical moments.
    Vincent

  13. truly you have captured the essence of friendship in these lovely photos from around the world. I found your blog through my friend Cathy Aten’s I’m so grateful she pointed me in your direction!!1

  14. Oh this post filled my heart with love! Thank you! Your gorgeous photography intermingled with those quote–pure gold!

  15. You are the best in capturing feelings!

  16. Great you idea. very nice.

  17. Sir,
    You are Master OF emotions no tricks….just emotions..or timing thanku sir. ur my virtual Guru.

    manish..

  18. its about friendship :D

  19. I love your pictures, but we had “fathers”, “family” and now “friends” – I’m hoping for a post dedicated to mothers…

  20. Just wonderful!

  21. Amazing you are Steve…love the boys with arms wrapped around shoulders… such a protective loving gesture.
    The last one with the little buddhist boys is interesting.. one of them is holding a lil squirt gun. Makes for irony in some way.

  22. kyleamorgan Says:

    Awesome work!

  23. LOVE LOVE LOVE this post! I am forwarding it to my friends today!
    One of the best things in life (if not THE best!)
    Thank you so much for showing such beauty in the world!

  24. Steve, you never fail to blow me away with your imagery. Thanks for sharing these never seen before images. Your blog has become a regular stop for me for inspiration, just as your printed books have always been. Hoping to run into you again, as we did in Jodhpur a few years back. All the best, and safe travels to you.
    Karl Grobl

  25. Beautiful photographs that aptly reflected the concept of friendship.
    Congratulations

  26. Alan Parsons Says:

    Beautiful. A timely reminder of one of the most important aspects of our lives.

  27. Sir, your works are always amazing… like the neat & clean composition. a great inspiration for me.

  28. Wonderful essay and images Steve!

  29. You have a gift for portraying the best in human nature. Your images make me smile. Thank you.

  30. Amazing …

    Regards,

  31. Lovely pictures :) They really do manage to say a million things without speaking a single word.

  32. Jeff Silber Says:

    B”H

    Genius At Work…………

  33. I’ve liked it a lot, get my best regards!

  34. Steve — as with all your work, these really touch my heart and take me to places and people that would be hard for me to see or connect with. Thanks so much for the joy and affection that shine through in your work. All best to you, Rita

  35. Great photographs . . . and good timing too, in a period when true friendship and virtual friendship are only divided by a blurring line.
    Thanks a lot

  36. Time of friendship, good time.
    Un saludo y gracias por tus fotos.

  37. You are the best storyteller Steve ! Really you are great ! Only you can capture so many images on the same theme form all over the world !

    Another great collection Steve ! I express my respect to you.

    Regards,
    Apratim Saha.

  38. [...] Steve McCurry:ien mainio postaus. [...]

  39. With due respect: truly wonderful !!

  40. All in the timing and you have it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,332 other followers

