Archive for August 5, 2011

Stronger By Weakness

Posted in Uncategorized on August 5, 2011 by stevemccurry
 

TIBET-10009

Lhasa, Tibet 

Stronger by weakness, wiser men become
As they draw near to their eternal home.
Leaving the old, both worlds at once they view
That stand upon the threshold of the new.
-Edmund Waller

INDIA-10004NFGujarat, India

INDIA-10212Vrindavan, India

TIBET-10619

Kham, Tibet

The longer I live the more beautiful life becomes. 
- Frank Lloyd Wright

YUGOSLAVIA-10050 Dubrovnik, Croatia

AFGHN-10225 Jalalabad, Afghanistan

Youth is the gift of nature, but age is a work of art.
- Garson Kanin

BURMA-10404; Myanmar (Burma); 02/2011Myanmar/Burma 

INDIA-11025Rajasthan, India

 Wrinkles should merely indicate where smiles have been.
Mark Twain, Following the Equator

BRAZIL-10030NF3Brazil

 PAKISTAN-10004Pakistan

PARAGUAY-10002 Filadelfia, Paraguay

Old age has its pleasures, which, though different, are not less than the pleasures of youth.
- W. Somerset Maugham

SRILANKA-10086 Sri Lanka

CUBA-10016 Cuba 

Warning

When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple
with a red hat that doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
and satin candles, and say we’ve no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired
and gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
and run my stick along the public railings
and make up for the sobriety of my youth…
- Jenny Joseph

  TIBET-10666Tibet 

TIBET-10006ns

Lhasa, Tibet

KASHMIR-10107Kashmir

FRANCE-10056NFFrance

Grow old along with me.  The best is yet to be. 
- Robert Browning

 FRANCE-10126

France 

When we’re young we have faith in what is seen, but when we’re old we know that what is seen is traced in air and built on water.
– Maxwell Anderson

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25,798 other followers