Stronger By Weakness

 

TIBET-10009

Lhasa, Tibet 

Stronger by weakness, wiser men become
As they draw near to their eternal home.
Leaving the old, both worlds at once they view
That stand upon the threshold of the new.
-Edmund Waller

INDIA-10004NFGujarat, India

INDIA-10212Vrindavan, India

TIBET-10619

Kham, Tibet

The longer I live the more beautiful life becomes. 
- Frank Lloyd Wright

YUGOSLAVIA-10050 Dubrovnik, Croatia

AFGHN-10225 Jalalabad, Afghanistan

Youth is the gift of nature, but age is a work of art.
- Garson Kanin

BURMA-10404; Myanmar (Burma); 02/2011Myanmar/Burma 

INDIA-11025Rajasthan, India

 Wrinkles should merely indicate where smiles have been.
Mark Twain, Following the Equator

BRAZIL-10030NF3Brazil

 PAKISTAN-10004Pakistan

PARAGUAY-10002 Filadelfia, Paraguay

Old age has its pleasures, which, though different, are not less than the pleasures of youth.
- W. Somerset Maugham

SRILANKA-10086 Sri Lanka

CUBA-10016 Cuba 

Warning

When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple
with a red hat that doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
and satin candles, and say we’ve no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired
and gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
and run my stick along the public railings
and make up for the sobriety of my youth…
- Jenny Joseph

  TIBET-10666Tibet 

TIBET-10006ns

Lhasa, Tibet

KASHMIR-10107Kashmir

FRANCE-10056NFFrance

Grow old along with me.  The best is yet to be. 
- Robert Browning

 FRANCE-10126

France 

When we’re young we have faith in what is seen, but when we’re old we know that what is seen is traced in air and built on water.
– Maxwell Anderson

55 Responses to “Stronger By Weakness”

  1. Truly breathtaking and your quotes add such beauty as well. I could enjoy this over and over again. I came upon you looking for pictures of tea and found so much more…thank you for sharing your good work.

  2. HE, the creator…makes beautiful people! <3

  3. masood hussain Says:

    just …………………………………………….lovely pictures

  4. Me he prejubilado,estoy haciendo un curso básico de fotografía y a través de un compañero he accedido por curiosidad a ver este reportaje.
    Me he emocionado.
    Estuve en la India y en Nepal y estas fotos me ha permitido revivir aquellos momentos.
    Hacen que despierte con más intensidad esta nueva forma de vivir la vida y lo mucho que puedo llegar a disfrutar y hacer que otros puedan vibrar.
    Muchas felicidades por tu trabajo y muchas gracias

  5. pawmyintoo Says:

    lovely shots……….

  6. Anonymous Says:

    I have lost so much in my life. Your photos remind me that no matter the loss I endure – I can find comfort in the fact that I at least had something to lose in the first place. You have a way of finding beauty where none seemingly exists. Thanks for inspiring my journey.

  7. I like the way you do.

  8. Age is a very high price to pay for maturity.
    Tom Stoppard
    No matter how old you get, if you can keep the desire to be creative, you’re keeping the man-child alive. (John Cassevetes)
    Steve Mccury, man with a great soul, salute!!!

  9. These are worth more than a thousand words.
    Such great work…inspires life.

  10. paolamarinangeli Says:

    Each photo can say a story, each one of these ”old” faces have a life to tell and wisdom to share. Thanks for sharing with us the beauty and ”soul” of your photos.

    Paola Marinangeli
    my blog: http://paolamarinangeliphotos.wordpress.com/

  11. These are some beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Margaret Mair Says:

    “Traced in air and built on water” – but moments are caught and shared in memories and images. For which, thank you.

  13. Great portraits Steve..Congrats..

  14. FaridWajdi Says:

    wow…i love the portrait, especially the portrait from Afghanistan and Pakistan…i’m so inspired to making some portrait like that..

  15. on my god!!!
    really wonderful pics!!
    well done! :)

    My photoblog: http://www.photographyforpassion.blogspot.com/

  16. Wow, the guy with the vintage sowing machine, I wonder what his story is

  17. Sabyasachi Nath Says:

    I like your images.

  18. Thank you so much for these beautiful pcitures of wisdom.

  19. “The older I ….”. I agree w/ FLW

  20. Fotos Fantásticas !!!!Excelentes.

  21. Steve, Very touching essay. Thank you.
    Matt

  22. Awesome work Friend. Some of my favorite photography.

  23. Exceptional Photography. Far ahead of the usual portrait stuff. Love your use of words with the photos. Thanks. Can’t stop looking at.
    Hans

  24. Anonymous Says:

    spectacular

  25. Not one actor or fake pose. refreshingly brilliant

  26. increìbles fotos!!

  27. If I were able to live my life again,
    I would not mind have your talent! :)
    kinds regards,
    Corina (the netherlands)

  28. very nice pics…..

  29. Anonymous Says:

    very nice pics…

  30. Mary Donnelly Says:

    Hi,these beautiful pictures command so much respect,thank you for what your pictures leave with me.

  31. beautiful work. I’ve always appreciated your photographs. thanks for sharing them with us.

  32. Wow! What a fantastic series.

  33. I look forward to getting old.

  34. So beautiful.

  35. [...] This post was Twitted by delusionalGod [...]

  36. Jorge Luis Borges

    Moments

    Translated by Alastair Reid

    If I were able to live my life again,
    next time I would try to make more mistakes.
    I would not try to be so perfect. I would be more relaxed.
    I would be much more foolish than I have been. In fact,
    I would take very few things seriously.
    I would be much less sanitary.
    I would run more risks. I would take more trips,
    I would contemplate more sunsets,
    I would climb more mountains,
    I would swim more rivers.
    I would go to more places I have never visited.
    I would eat more ice cream and fewer beans.
    I would have more real problems, fewer imaginary ones.
    I was one of these people who lived prudently
    and prolifically every moment of his life.
    Certainly I had moments of great happiness:
    Don’t let the present slip away.
    I was one of those who never went anywhere
    without a thermometer, a hot water bottle,
    an umbrella, and a parachute.
    If I could live over again,
    I would go barefoot, beginning
    in early spring
    and would continue so until the end of autumn.
    I would take more turns on the merry-go-round.
    I would watch more dawns
    And play with more children,
    if I once again had a life ahead of me.
    But, you see, I am eighty-five
    and I know that I am dying.

  37. Love your pictures, they are very inspiring to me, my trips and also my own photos!

    DANI
    http://www.wix.com/daniplanas/photo http://daniplanaslabad.wordpress.com

  38. Anonymous Says:

    Amazing… just so beautiful….

  39. Added to my favourites !!! :)

  40. Anonymous Says:

    Added to my fvrts! :)

  41. more the wrinkles -more the life- more the love

  42. In general I usually don’t like quotes very much, but here they resonate so much with the photographs. I’ve commented before, but I’ll say it again, your choice of words to accompany the photos gives them a new depth.

  43. Kaushal Kumar Singh Says:

    The world is your studio, yes it is yours !

  44. Your photographs always has this vibe that makes me look for what’s hidden within the photograph itself .. Great emotions you have captured.

  45. Anonymous Says:

    great photos sir u r a good traveller & a veiwer toooo……it reflects in your pictures sir……..color tones are really nice………..

  46. hey finally , u have new, I am waiting for it for so long. I love you Mr. Mcurry, Please take more wonderful photos for us , that’s wonderful, through ur camera, i can seeanother world.

    Love you
    thank you for ur photos

    A.S.

  47. Emilia Asensio Says:

    Awesome! Wisdom has its photograph taken!

  48. Adoro quest’uomo!!!

  49. Pete Ross Says:

    Amazing work as usual. Very inspiring!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,485 other followers

