Unpublished, Unseen VI

TURKEY-10074NF

Istanbul, Turkey

 Over the past thirty years, I have taken nearly a million pictures. 
Many of them have been published in my books, in magazines, and
seen in my exhibitions,
but a majority have never been seen.
Here are a few of those unseen pictures.

BALUCHISTAN-10005NF

Baluchistan, Pakistan

ITALY-10132NF11

Sicily, Italy

TIBET-10936

Tibet

 

YEMEN-10167

Yemen

TIBET-10946

Lhasa, Tibet

PAKISTAN-10017

Afghanistan 

INDIA-11398

Gujarat, India

INDIA-10878

Mizoram, India

JAPAN-10005NF3

Japan

CUBA-10028

Havana, Cuba

CUBA-10027

Havana, Cuba

THAILAND-10070

Bangkok, Thailand

THAILAND-10076

Chang Mai, Thailand

ITALY-10287NF

Italy

SOUTH_AFRICA-10025

Cape Town, South Africa

NEPAL-10060

Kali Gandaki, Nepal

00131_04; Tibet; 2000; TIBET-10976

India

 E X H I B I T I O N S

CHRIS BEETLES FINE ART PHOTOGRAPHS
3-5 Swallow Street
London W1B 4DE
September 7 – 24, 2011

PETER FETTERMAN GALLERY
2525 Michigan Ave #A1
Santa Monica, CA 90404
September 10 – December 1, 2011
OPEN SHUTTER GALLERY
735 Main Avenue
Durango, CO
September 9 – December 14, 2011
LAURA RATHE FINE ART
September 17 – October 15
Houston, TX
MACRO
Museum of Contemporary Art
Rome, Italy
December 1, 2011 – April 29, 2012

41 Responses to “Unpublished, Unseen VI”

  1. I am in awe of your photos. I’ve lived in the north of Italy for more than twenty years. You manage to capture everything I love about this country and studying the imagines I still don’t know how you do it. Thank you.

  2. Steve

    Thanks, I always find inspiration here. Visited your exhibition at the Chris Beetles gallery in Sept. to see your work “in the flesh”. Worth the trip from Newport, Pembrokeshire just to see the women in the dust storm! Fabulous.

  3. Joymalyadas Says:

    Unparallel work and everything is so perfect Steve….You always Inspire!!

  4. Really love your blog. On this post, I especially liked the photo of Afghanistan, but every single one was stunning, so glad these previously unshown pics are shared here!

  5. Published or not, photos are memory, and eyes don’t care about publishing…

    Thanks for your eyes.

    Jesus

  6. Alicia Rius Says:

    Steve, you still don´t know me but I´ll meet you this coming Thursday at the LiberPress event. I still can´t believe it! (I´ll be the photographer)

    All these unpublished pictures, is because you decided or are the publishers?
    It´s wonderful that these pictures can see the light. Congratulations.

  7. Youre photos are amazing………….

  8. Anonymous Says:

    Extraordinaires photographies…Le sens de la vie

  9. I always enjoy your great photos !
    And I’m sure there are “tones” of amazing unseen photos…
    So hard to choose !

  10. As with every week that I receive your digest, I am left inspired, touched and with an aching need to get back at out in the world and emerse myself in the smells, tastes and sights of places less familiar. Thank you.

  11. Its always to see things through your eyes..
    captures r awesome !!!!

  12. I like all the photos, but the one that stands out the most is the one from Sicily, Italy. I wish I had the opportunity to see more of your unpublished photos. Would you ever put a book together of these photos? If so it would be a definite buy.

  13. very nice collectiin.

  14. Steve,

    It was a pleasure to make your acquaintance on Friday in Durango for opening night at the gallery.

    I have posted a few photos below from your vist to the Open Shutter and corresponding lecture…enjoy!

    http://fedoraphoto.blogspot.com/

    …I also wanted to add that the above image from Sicily, Italy (Third from the top) is really stunning, a beautiful scene, one of my favorites – thanks for sharing!

    Best, Jeremy

  15. I am a longtime fan, Mr McCurry. You have an incredible eye and the result of your perspective is breathtakingly emotive. I’m SO excited you are exhibiting in Colorado! I’m making the trek from the Springs to Durango, no matter what!

  16. Boas!

    Devo dizer que gosto imenso deste blogue!

    Podem adicionar os meus aos vossos links? Eu prometo que retribuo :p

    http://davidjosepereira.blogspot.com/

    Saudosos cumprimentos!

  17. Hi Steve! Im from Sweden but I choose to go to Sydney and study photography and follow my dreams.. I like your human relaxed positive attitude and that you succeed to capture all the beautiful moments in life. I had you as an inspiring photographer during a power-point presentation.

    Im just curious.. What kind of camera and lens did you use for this photo-shoot? And how do you make the colours in your inmages so powerful! I want to learn! :D

    Keep up with your good work!! / Sussie

  18. your pictures do say a thousand words- from Mizoram, India

  19. Hi Steve
    I do not know anything about photography but I have always liked your pictures.And in this series Afghanistan and Kali Gandhaki,Nepal ones have become my favourites.Thanks for this treat to the eyes and soul

  20. Anne Gorrissen Says:

    Congratulations for many shows at the same time and thank you for sharing your inspired work with us.

  21. graceful, as usual.
    Have you ever considered exhibiting in Switzerland? We’d be honoured!
    And congratulations about the family photography contest :-)

  22. Spellbinding collection. Thanks for sharing. :)

  23. Steve I have no words for your photographs. Just curious why these treasures are hidden till now?

    I wish I could work under you. Even if that means taking a sabbatical in my professional career.

    Regards, Vivek

  24. PETRA COLLINS Says:

    Fabulous, that’s all can say. No one else can capture the essence
    of place and moment like you can. Petra – Cape Town

  25. Kaushal Kumar Singh Says:

    It doesn’t matter if published or unpublished, they all are equally good, your signature is imprinted on every frame only if one could see.

    http://kaushalsingh.wordpress.com

  26. Steve, I looked through your list of upcoming exhibitions hoping that there was one scheduled to be held in India. Disappointed to see that there are none! Am hoping, that in the not too distant future, you will exhibit in India and give us the opportunity to view your work close-up and in “reality”.
    Sincerely
    Anil

  27. Anonymous Says:

    All are fantastique dear friend!

  28. Thank you for feeding my soul today.

  29. rajeshblack Says:

    your photos are wounderful.. like your photographs

  30. rajeshblack Says:

    dear sir ,

    i like your work…

  31. As good if not better than the published work!
    Thanks very much
    Sujoy

    http://www.sujoydas.com

  32. What did you shoot with the last roll of Kodachrome and where/when can we see it?

  33. Anonymous Says:

    thank you Steve for sharing your beautiful pics with us.

  34. Great pictures ! Thank you Steve for sharing these wonderful photos with us !

  35. Steve, your photographs are heartwarming and heart wrenching,transporting me to wonderful places all over the globe, enriching and expanding my space in my own small world.

  36. marilee pittman Says:

    Your photos are exquisite. Thank you for sharing such exotic places and faces with us….

  37. How on earth do you choose among your photos to publish? I have your Iconic Photos and I do not think there are many here that wouldn’t fit in with those. Great stuff.

  38. caro Sr steve
    Acompanho seu trabalho a anos e a cada nova foto que vejo sinto uma que ha nova liçao de humanidade , de ternura, traduzida por seu olhar .
    Sua alma esta presente em todas elas.
    abraços do Brazil
    Milton

  39. nahualito Says:

    Thanks Steve, for letting us learn from you with each new photo.

  40. May I be the first to tell you that these are just as good as the published ones.
    Kali Gandaki is my favourite!
    Thanks and kind regards,
    Corina

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,318 other followers

