The Colors of Italy

My exhibition in Rome at the Museum of Contemporary Art opened December 3, 2011 and will run through April 29, 2012.
As part of the exhibition planning I spent several months photographing locations all over Italy.
Here are a few of those pictures.

ITALY-10074

Venice, Italy 

 
A man who has not been to Italy, is always conscious of an inferiority.
 –  Samuel Johnson
ITALY-10077
 
ITALY-10065

You may have the universe if I may have Italy.
-  Giuseppe Verdi 

 

ITALY-10043NF

Rome, Italy

Open my heart and you will see,
Graved inside of it, “Italy.”
-  Robert Browning

_SM17552, Sicily, Italy, 04/2011, ITALY-10147

Sicily, Italy 

ITALY-10095

Gubbio, Italy

For us to go to Italy and to penetrate into Italy is like a most fascinating act of self-discovery—
back, back down the old ways of time. Strange and wonderful chords awake in us, and vibrate again
after many hundreds of years of complete forgetfulness.
- D.H.Lawrence

ITALY-10079, Venice, Italy, 03/2011

Venice, Italy

Report of fashions in proud Italy,
Whose manners still our tardy-apish nation
Limps after in base imitation.
-  William Shakespeare

 

ITALY-10268NF

Rome, Italy

ITALY-10287NF

Perugia, Italy

ITALY-10067

Venice, Italy

ITALY-10012

Camino, Italy

In Italy
by
Derek Walcott
Published in the New Yorker Magazine

Roads shouldered by enclosing walls with narrow
cobbled tracks for streets, those hill towns with their
stamp-sized squares and a sea pinned by the arrow
of a quivering horizon, with names that never wither
for centuries and shadows that are the dial of time. Light
older than wine and a cloud like a tablecloth
spread for lunch under the leaves …
April 21, 2008

ITALY-10018NF

Camino, Italy

ITALY-10125-(1)

Sicily, Italy


 MACRO Testaccio Pelanda
Piazza Orazio Giustiniani 4
ROME

December 3, 2011 – April 29, 2012

EXHIBITION WEBSITE: 
http://www.stevemccurryroma.it/allestimento.php?lang=eng

ITALY-10080

Venice, Italy

If there is a gratification which I envy any people in this world it is to your country [Italy] its music.
This is the favorite passion of my soul, and fortune has cast my lot in a country where it is in a state of deplorable barbarism .
- Thomas Jefferson

ITALY-10337

Spoleto, Perugia

Italy is a dream that keeps returning
for the rest of your life.

- Anna Akhmatova

ITALY-10103

We invite you to look at our new website:  http://www.stevemccurry.com

Some Media coverage of the Rome Exhibition:

http://www.vogue.it/en/people-are-talking-about/art-photo-design/2011/12/steve-mccurry

http://www.video.mediaset.it/video/tg5/tg5_la_lettura/265739/steve-mccurry.html

79 Responses to “The Colors of Italy”

  1. The photos really showed the different wonderful hues of life in Italy. Such a pleasing experience going over through all the magnificent photographs you have posted.

  2. Thanks for your wonderful BLOG. I enjoyed it so much I re-BLOGged it on mine: http://travelblogitaly.wordpress.com

  3. Reblogged this on Travel in Europe Blog and commented:
    Italy is such a wonderful place to live, to visit and to get to know. This BLOG shows many wonderful pictures showing the richness of Italy. Enjoy!

    George & Jo Anne

  4. Linda Valles Says:

    Italia mi piace un sogno!

  5. Reblogged this on Discovering Venice and commented:
    This man understood Venice more than many inhabitants.

  6. degouvestz laurent Says:

    Magnifiques site!!!!! Il y a t il un pour les indes?

  7. Leonardo Says:

    Is it showing somewhere else after Rome?

  8. And here I thought I’d taken some amazing photos of Venice; you put me to shame! Great post!!

  9. [...] Photographer Steve McCurry will be exhibiting in Rome at the Museum of Contemporary Art until April 29, 2012. [...]

  10. Anita Nichols Says:

    Fills my heart with joy!

  11. De passage à Rome, nous sommes allés voir votre exposition qui nous a particulièrement touchés: magnifiques phots a la fois sublimes de beauté mais cruelles face à la réalité de votre monde….
    Merci.

    Allez-vous exposer en France?

  12. Great Steve!

  13. I am inspired by your work, and moved by the connections you have made with other people, cultures, animals, colors. Your work blows me away. Thanks.

  14. Reblogged this on Jess For Thought and commented:
    It is pictures like these that make me want to really live.

  15. [...] Steve McCurry, one of the world’s most famous photojournalists, seems to be attracted to color much like a moth is unwittingly drawn to any source of light it might encounter along its erratic path. The difference is McCurry’s route to fame has been anything but accidental. In case you’re wondering why his name sounds so familiar, think back to the world’s most famous National Geographic cover—the one with a beautiful young girl of olive complexion and green eyes. McCurry authored the portrait of the natural beauty, long believed to have been irretrievably lost along the paths of war, time and history. He now returns to bring us more source of wonder and awe from around the world. This time it’s the cobbled streets of Italian cities and towns that drew his attention. [...]

  16. Beautiful…Really magic!!!
    YOU ARE THE BEST STEVE!!!

  17. Thank you Steve. My report of the opening at MACRO is there: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2291416811417.2102266.1428922745&type=1

    And soon on Fotografia Reflex magazine (Rome).

  18. Steeeeve! Please come in Sardinia Island, Italy!!! We have such ancient traditions that still lives frome thousands of years and it’s so typicall and so different form the rest of Italian traditins. It’s a little lost in time world. I’m sure you’re gonna love it!

  19. Such Great Pictures as always!

  20. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award (VBA). Although I realize that you have been getting much bigger awards for longer than I have been alive, I still felt that it was appropriate. You are one of my favourite photographers and your work continually inspires me. If you are interested in Details you can check the “Things People Say” page on my blog (http://asoulswalk.wordpress.com/things-people-say/). Amazing work. Peace.

  21. Steve, another fantastic set of Images. O always feel inspired by your work. Jo

  22. Steve, THANKS for this post. You make me feel so proud of my beautiful Country. :D
    Hugs,
    Francesca

  23. Wonderful series. I’m particularly taken by the woman posing with the paintings, and the woman with the cat.

  24. I find your work so beautiful and inspiring … I hope I will be able to visit your amazing exhibtion!

  25. Truly amazing photography! A gift to the world! Thank you.

  26. Thank you- love!!

  27. I love the picture of the woman holding the cat. Something about her expression…

  28. [...] “My exhibition in Rome at the Museum of Contemporary Art opens December 3, 2011 and will run through April 29, 2012. As part of the exhibition planning I spent several months photographing locations all over Italy. ” says Steve, here is a link to his blog site [...]

  29. PETRA COLLINS Says:

    Absolutely stunning, how privileged to see the world
    like this and to to share it with us.

  30. These are absolutely gorgeous! They look like watercolor paintings!! I think my favorite is the one of the monk in Umbria, Italy. Flawless composition.

  31. Absolutely enchanting photos!! I’m an American living in Sicily, trying to capture the island through my lens. Your pictures are such an inspiration. Thank you.

  32. Italy has a real, living sense of history embedded in it which really gives it life. Wonderful pictures of a quite beautiful country.

  33. [...] Italy photographs from Steve McCurry’s newest exhibition in Rome. [...]

  34. wonderful images..got a chance to see italy beyond the touristy pics!!

  35. Everyday I am in awe of the beauty around me, I moved to Trento Italy just 5 months ago, mia nuva vita in Italia e bellisima!

  36. What a great collection of shots. Thanks for bringing Italy to our desktops!!!

  37. Anonymous Says:

    wow, to look at italy from the eyes of a foreigner. I am an American living in Northern Italy. Everyday I am in awe of its beauty.

  38. [...] December 4th, 2011 § Leave a Comment via stevemccurry.wordpress.com [...]

  39. Margaret Chatterley Says:

    Thank you Steve, I am enchanted. You bring back memories of my short time in a small part of this old and beautiful country. So now I want to return. Many people will enjoy your exhibition.
    Thank you again for sharing your gift :-))

  40. RedCat430 Says:

    Amazing pictures! Love them all!

  41. piemontesina Says:

    Thanks ! There IS an Italy that is NOT dirty, stupid, greedy, political, etc. You found it & thanks to your photos I’m proud to belong to that Italy & be an Italian.

  42. True Italian dreams. Great works Steve again.

  43. Outstanding body of work, great timing and sensitivity for the exact moment, not without a great sense of humor here and there.
    D

  44. amazing. i especially love the people – the woman with the cat, the monks, and the women with angel wings. have a wonderful exhibition. joy to you and yours!

  45. Dear Mr. McCurry,

    I follow your blog from quite a long time, and every your new post is breathtaking. This one does not makes an exception.
    I’m glad to read that you’re travelling around Italy, there is a very rich history and there are many interesting places to visit. Have you ever been to Genova? Its historical center is the I was born there. Please, feel free to contact me (by email) if you wish to visit my city, I could give you some hints ;)

    Riccardo

  46. lucia rambelli Says:

    una mostra imperdibile!
    fantastico “ritrovarsi” nell’intimita’ dei tuoi scatti

  47. Loved your tour :)

  48. These photos are extraordinary! Congratulations on the opening of your exhibit in Rome. What a great accomplishment.

  49. I will sure visit your exibit of italian portrait…
    Wonderful picture of wonderful country by the best…
    Thanks Steve!

  50. You have such a great eye. I love the one of the statue in Perugia, and also the pair of human angels.

  51. I am now in Rome. I hope that this fantastic Photos were my inspiration, but maybe in black and white ;-)

  52. Steve, were using a Leica for some of these shots? The Venice shots especially have the color tone and contrast of an M9, although I have read that you are more inclined to use a Nikon these days.

  53. Anonymous Says:

    thanks for your work Steve !
    Cristiano Collia

  54. Love the imeges, always great color in all your images.

  55. Vicent Borràs Says:

    Una col·lecció molt interessant i uns colors magnífics. Salutacions

  56. Rodolfo Sada Says:

    ¡Imágenes sencillamente fascinantes!

  57. procurrent Says:

    What a gorgeous portrait of Italy! Thank you once again for showing us the beauty and truth within.

  58. The magic colors of Italy, my country :-)

  59. Carissimo Sr Steve
    Sono brasiliano , discendente di italiani, l’Italia è la più pura espressione del sentimento. Tutto in Italia è molto forte, la vita, i sentimenti, l’amore. Un paese bellissimo dove siamo stati diverse volte.
    bellissime fotografie
    abbracci brasiliani
    Milton

  60. very, very nice!!!!
    congratulations!

  61. Great pictures Steve..Regards

  62. Ciao Steve, ho messo in agenda la mostra da tempo… Amo la tua delicatezza, la tua gentile determinazione, anche quando fotografi il mio strano paese. Grazie ancora…

  63. Hi Steve. I went several times in Italy and I find this lovely atmosphere through your photography. I love them !!

  64. levigail Says:

    As an Italian, i agree with all the quotes posted. Italy is just… Italy!

  65. emilymullaswilson Says:

    The first time I visited Italy, with its “light older than wine,” I felt my soul waking up after a long sleep in sanitized, suburban, too-young America. These pictures and quotations perfectly captured the essence of that Italian awakening. I cannot return soon enough.

  66. Thanks to dedicate this post to my country, your photos are fantastic as usual and I believe that you capture the soul of my country. I hope to visit your new exhibition during the Christmas’ time.

  67. Very original like always !
    Well done and wonderful colors !!

  68. Steve ! This really a very good post ! So different from your other post.

  69. amazing ..as always

  70. wowwwwwwwwwwwww , sir nice photography .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26,996 other followers

