Passion of Italy

ITALY-10049

Rome, Italy 

 

My exhibition in Rome at the Museum of Contemporary Art opened December 3, 2011, and will run through April 29, 2012.   
As part of the exhibition,  I was commissioned to photograph locations all over Italy. 

Here are a few of those pictures:

 

ITALY-10069

Venice, Italy

 There is no more magnificent absurdity than Venice. To build a city where it is impossible to build a city is madness in itself,
but to build there one of the most elegant and grandest of cities is the madness of genius.
- Alexander Herzen

ITALY-10085

Rome, Italy

ITALY-10033

Rome, Italy

Only passions, great passions, can elevate the soul to great things.
- Denis Diderot

ITALY-10132NF11

Sicily, Italy

 

ITALY-10107NF4

Vatican City, Rome, Italy 

 

When you do things from your soul,
you feel a river moving in you, a joy.

― Rumi

ITALY-10146

Sicily, Italy 

ITALY-10087

Rome, Italy

Nothing great in the world has been accomplished without passion.
-  Georg Wilhelm

ITALY-10152

Sicily, Italy

ITALY-10149

Sicily, Italy

ITALY-10090

Rome, Italy

Whether you say Gioia di Vivere in Italian, or Joie de Vivre in French, or other expressions which
attempt to capture a passion for life,   you know the difficulty
of expressing the intangible in words.  I hope these pictures reflect the vibrant joy of life in Italy.

ITALY-10106NF

Rome, Italy

ITALY-10212NF

Rome, Italy

To get the full value of joy you must have someone to divide it with.
― Mark Twain

ITALY-10284

Rome, Italy

My mind to me a kingdom is,
Such present joys therein I find,
That it excels all other bliss.
-  Sir Edward Dyer

ITALY-10263

Rome, Italy

ITALY-10104

Rome, Italy

ITALY-10208

Rome, Italy

A thing of beauty is a joy forever.
- John Keats

ITALY-10327

Venice, Italy

Nothing in the world that you ever heard of Venice, is equal to the
magnificent and stupendous reality.

- Charles Dickens

ITALY-10286

Selected Media Coverage

http://www.vogue.it/en/people-are-talking-about/art-photo-design/2011/12/steve-mccurry

http://www.video.mediaset.it/video/tg5/tg5_la_lettura/265739/steve-mccurry.html

We invite you to take a look at our new website:

http://www.stevemccurry.com

36 Responses to “Passion of Italy”

  1. Sir, your work influence me the most, especially the series in India.
    I wish I could visit any your up-coming exhibition or I wish that the exhibition could be organize in my home land “Malaysia”

  2. Anita Nichols Says:

    I have wanted to go to Italy all my life. Thank you for giving me a taste of it.

  3. cristina serrano Says:

    Muy agradable recorrido. ¡Gracias!

  4. Thank you Steve for giving out so much through your photographs, through that shutter that closes at that right moment. I just found out you have a blog here and I’m touched with happiness to be able to leave a comment here. You are one of my greatest inspirations and I thank you very much for that! I’m just about to publish in my blog an article about my thoughts on your photography.. It would be wonderful if you pass by and have a look! And again thank you for showing us the extraordinary!

  5. Italy seen through your eyes, Steve, is something we can all relate to, that’s what makes it so unique. I flew from Croatia only to see the Rome exhibition – and it was absolutely worth it!! I am very happy and honoured to have met you.

  6. Olga Celle Says:

    Steve, I think what makes you grand is your tender love for people which coupled with great expertise materializes in moving images. I wish I were able to do that! Because it allows you to make many people happy. I love Italy, I wish I were Italian and truly appreciate this beautiful album.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    I agree with Valeria.
    Thank you Steve.

  8. donfraserforsyth60 Says:

    I just wish I was Italian Steve!!

  9. What quality and delight you bring to my life with your “eye”. Lines, light, color, contours, people…all presented so well. Many thanks. You also choose such relevant quotes.

  10. The first photo here, of the little girl, is one of my favourites from your “Portraits” book. The third really made me smile, as it’s so delightful! The eighth brings to mind one in India, where you captured a very stooped old lady in the street, and I think that was in Varansi. All wonderful, then…

  11. Franchesca Aviva Says:

    I have nominated you for the versatile blogger award: http://thedevilbeneath.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/the-versatile-blogger

  12. All your shots , what can i say ..awesome..can’t afford to go to the exhibition but if you ever consider Te Papa , Wellington , New Zealand for the same there will be many people wanting to see your work

  13. Shamsundar Shringare Says:

    Every photo has life in it, It a passion of Italy.

  14. So beautiful pictures. I feel as if I were there…

  15. Sir,
    You have commented on the Romance that prevails naturally in there and with Historical backdrop at ITALY.

    Thanks a lot for Teaching. We are displaying some of your images at our Photo Exhibition in Kolkata, INDIA, with kind permission of your studio Manager Dallas Raines at New York.

  16. So very wonderful. Great work.

  17. I am Italian and while watching your pictures of Italian locations I was thinking that they really captured some scenes of true italian lifestyle and soul. I hope to visit your exhibition in Rome.

  18. Amazing might not be the apt word to describe your post.
    The amalgamation of the words with the pictures is spectacular.
    Thanks Steve.
    Cheers!
    Pratik

  19. Anonymous Says:

    will be visiting your exhibition in Rome this we with great enthusiasm.

  20. Ahhh Itália, pura emoção, puro sentimento,
    mas para captar estes sentimentos e emoção, a beleza tem que estar dentro da alma de quem as fotografa,
    abraço
    Milton

  21. I like your pictures very, very much, not only because they are beautiful: they have something more: fun, tenderness, some pin or fantasy.

  22. Impressions, one simply needs to love. That*s Italy.

  23. Thank you for sharing these photos. They are the most beautiful photos I have seen in a long time, and they are filled with the spirit of life….like you say, the joie de vivre. Spectacular!

  24. Your photos made my morning – glorious images!

  25. Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful!

  26. Great photos, great place.

    Thanks for posting

  27. These are really wonderful. The colors are so warm and rich.
    My two favorite have to be the young child with the rose and the old woman bent over walking.

    I’m curious, do you get permission/releases from all of these people after taking their shots?

  28. Angela Di Finizio Says:

    Thanks for catching our country so deeply and lightly. Some places are missing (I am from Naples) but I am sure you’ll find the chance to come back, Meanwhile I look forward to seeing your exhibit in Rome as joyful inspiration for life

  29. Wonderful!! thank you for sharing.

  30. Sardinia is best!

  31. Beautiful, Steve. Congratulation for your exhibition!

  32. i’m italian and this photos make me proud of it :)

  33. Anonymous Says:

    Marvelous captures as usual :)

  34. emilymullaswilson Says:

    I feel so much happiness and serenity when I view your photographs. Many other photographers only capture images; you truly capture “gioia de vivere.”
    I very much wish that I could see your exhibition in person at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Rome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,995 other followers

