Sail Away

Burma

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed
by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.
So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor.
Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover.
- Mark Twain

Italy

The Road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began,
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow if I can,
Pursuing it with eager feet,
Until it joins some larger way
Where many paths and errands meet.
And whither then? I cannot say.
- Lord of the Rings, J.R.R. Tolkien

Tibet

I had become, with the approach of night, once more aware of
loneliness and time – those two companions without whom no
journey can yield us anything.
– Lawrence Durrell

Bamiyan Province, Afghanistan

Nepal

Earth’s crammed with heaven.
- Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Kashmir

Philippines

Tibet

Go far. Stay long. See deep.
And may the sun rise twice before you sleep.
- Unknown

Kashmir

The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.
St. Augustine

Agra, India

For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go.
I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.

- Robert Louis Stevenson

Croatia

To awaken quite alone in a strange town is one of the
pleasantest sensations in the world.
-Freya Stark, Explorer and Writer


Howrah Mail Train going to Kolkata

A traveler without observation is a bird without wings.
– Moslih Eddin Saadi

Nepal

Bizarre travel plans are dancing lessons from God.
- Kurt Vonnegut 

Train to Peshawar, Pakistan

Tibet

Tibet

Kolkata

Adventure is a path. Real adventure – self-determined, self-motivated, often risky –
forces you to have firsthand encounters with the world.
The world the way it is, not the way you imagine it.
-Mark Jenkins


85 Responses to “Sail Away”

  1. [...] the sense I got of the universality of this emotion. Or for the pilgrim in you, consider “Sail Away.” Whether or not you’re a contemplative, his work is brilliant and well worth a look-see. [...]

  2. Tereza Says:

    Beautiful photos ! Thank you.

  3. [...] Sail Away (stevemccurry.wordpress.com) [...]

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Splendide aussi bien dans les textes que dans les photos.Merci de nous permettre de respirer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. klirdapson Says:

    Thanks for showing us the world through your brilliant photography…….. You are my all time favorite & a huge inspiration…!!!

    Klirdapson
    Gujarat , India

  6. Beautiful pics…. truly beautiful…

  7. wow. they really amazing photographer… give me more inspiration in photography…

  8. Beautiful work! I was recently in Rome for a short period of time and noted that you had an exhibition there. Unfortunately, I was not able to locate it. My hotel couldn’t, and in fact, the gallery showing Henri Cartier-Bresson’s work couldn’t either. Funny, considering that one ticket would have entitled me to view two exhibits. So, I missed it and had to make due with Cartier-Bresson. It’s great that I can enjoy those photos here.

  9. To travel vicariously with you is extraordinary. Thank you for your inspiration.
    Francesca

  10. So beautifull and so inspiring texts…

  11. Evokes the wanderlust in me again!

  12. Mr. Chandan D. Naik Gaonkar Says:

    Steve, you are genius. Master of Photo journalism and one of my favorite too. Happy clicking.

    Yours truly:
    Mr. Chandan D. Naik Gaonkar( Goa-India)

  13. Fascinatinggggggg! Thanks for show me a brillant life with all the colours we can see, thanks a lot for make me dream… @nu

  14. Absolutely beautiful! Such a treat traveling through your eyes….

  15. Inspiración para los que compartimos esta gran afición!!

  16. Luis Miguel Manchinelly Says:

    Awesome !!! No words.

  17. Insipiring images which shows the true essence of people and culture! I will keep these type of images in mind when i travel to india!

  18. Stephanie Says:

    Amazing pictures as usual. Thank you so much for all the beauty you bring us.

  19. You are one of my all time favorite photographers. Beautiful work Steve. Seriously amazing.

  20. Just great, the images and the words.

  21. Wonderfull work, Mr. Mc Curry. You are the light in my photograph road. Thank you.

  22. Reblogged this on Ultimapress and commented:
    Fantastic shots from South East Asia, Steve McCurry, NatGeo Photographer

  23. Very Nice ! , how were you able to travel to these certain destinations. I have not kept up with my wordpress ,but i should begin to . check it out, if youd like.

  24. Steve, your images steal my breath and make me want to come on your journey with you… thank you

  25. Very Nice ! …. i havent kept up with my wordpress at all , but i need to !…

  26. bronsond Says:

    Thank you Steve for sharing your vision.

  27. Feliz Cumpleanos Steve. Thank you for inspiring Us.

  28. Anonymous Says:

    This was wonderful. Confirms our love of travel, and the quotes were perfect! But that person in Nepal leading the donkey made me laugh….
    Pat Digre

  29. Happy Birthday Steve and thank you for sharing not only the stunning photographs but the meaningful accompanying thoughts. You have been an inspiration in my life.

  30. Stunning work as usual.

  31. Happy Birthday Steve. just to let you know, I envy your ‘vision’ through the lens.

  32. Anonymous Says:

    beautiful,,,after a very tiring day I had a chance to get a piece of beauty and thanks for that :)

  33. Thanks a lot…..Not only for the wonderful pics but also for taking your time looking for the thoughts…I envy you (in the good way!) Happy birthday and think you are lucky: you R really a year Wiser!

  34. Anonymous Says:

    Inspiring !!!!

  35. Reblogged this on Chez Laugaut and commented:
    L’incroyable talent de Steve McCurry pour nous emmener en voyage…

  36. sayantan Says:

    amazed again

  37. To one of the best photojournalist of this century:
    Have a wonderful birthday tomorrow and enjoy life!
    Wonderful storytelling photography as usual!

  38. Helena Ferreira Says:

    Amazing shots as always!

  39. Las fotografías son tan extraordinarias como los pensamientos que las acompañan. No sólo está la extrema belleza de las imágenes, sino las reflexiones, que mucho hacen pensar.¡Muchas gracias rpor todo lo que nos brinda!

  40. Partha Sur Says:

    Happy birthday!

  41. Beautiful and thought provoking.

  42. What a wonderful way to greet the morning. Thank you.

  43. Happy Birthday to the most inspiring and powerful storytelling Photographer!

  44. You’re my favorite photographer and perhaps the most inspiring. I couldn’t tell my feelings seeing your photos, always amazing me.

  45. Roberto Says:

    Hello Steve, Happy birthday!

  46. Steve, thank you !!
    Suas fotos são maravilhosamente belas e os textos incríveis.
    Obrigado por me proporcionar tamanho prazer em vê-las.

  47. Caro sr Steve
    O Mestre Dalai Lama proferiu uma frase que no meu entender reflete bem o sentimento de suas fotos
    “Só existem dois dias no ano que nada pode ser feito. Um se chama ontem e o outro se chama amanhã, portanto hoje é o dia certo para amar, acreditar, fazer e principalmente viver.”
    Dalai Lama
    abraços do Brazil
    Milton

  48. Always so many pictures that are incredibly!

  49. Reblogged this on Small Circle Big Circle and commented:
    Thoughts for the journey ….

  50. jidhujose Says:

    superb series

  51. Outstanding images, and very inspiring quotes. Hope you’re well Steve.
    -Alex
    http://www.AlexZolbert.com

  52. Awesome and inspiring shots – as always!

  53. Amazing and inspiring shots – as usual!

  54. Breathtaking as always

  55. Simply FABULOUS!!! Words and images run together leading us along this road that it’s life. Thanks for sharing!!

  56. Another beautiful collection. Steve, you spoil us.

  57. I love especially the one from Italy (and the quotation from Tolkien suits it so well!). Thank you once more!

  58. Alina Ene Says:

    Congratulations!

  59. Amazing photgraphs and beautiful wordings.

    http://www.rajniranjandas.blogspot.com

  60. Kelly Arsenault Says:

    always an inspiration… thank you!

  61. Wonderful photos … each telling a story!

  62. stunning..and yes, I need to sail away..a month at home is giving me the blues

  63. Wonderful photos. It makes me want to plan my next trip. Thank you.

  64. I just got the best possible start of the day. Thanks!

  65. Loved the pictures, and the Mark Twain quote that introduced this set, Steve.

    About 40 years ago, in Spain, I stopped to admire a beautiful wooden yawl. Its owner an elderly Dutchman, invited me to sail with him the following morning. I declined his offer, because I had to return to London the following day. He asked, “Why?” I told him I had to get back to work. He said, “Why?”.

    I always regretted not grabbing that particular chance, but have led my life since grasping every opportunity to “explore, dream, discover”. I commend the habit most heartily.

  66. Awesome Steve!!

  67. picture perfect portraits in majestic places of the world…

  68. 真実の重みを感じる

  69. Acep Abdullah Says:

    Amazing… Not just the view, but also the moment

  70. Maravilloso, las fotos y los textos.

  71. Beautiful photos! Makes me love my country even more :-)

  72. Beautiful and amazing, thanks for posting.

  73. tmroper Says:

    Sometimes I think photographs should stand on their own, without words. And sometimes I’m also not very fond of quotes in general. But not with these. The marriage creates achingly poignant reminders not to miss the world.

  74. Mary Catherine Rao Says:

    Magnificent !

  75. Love the First image and the Agra railway station one. I can see the other image created from Agra in that one!

  76. Wow.. Even though I am familiar with the usual high quality of your posts, I have to say this one blew me away.

    Perfect pictures, perfect quotes.

    Thank you

  77. Linda Williamson Says:

    Bizarre travel plans are dancing lessons from God…..Wow. That nails it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 23,902 other followers

