Home Again

ETHIOPIA-10074

Ethiopia

Home is the nicest word there is.
- Laura Ingalls Wilder

AFGHN-12825

Hazara Neighborhood, Kabul, Afghanistan

 

00635_12

Drying Coffee, Brazil

It takes a lot of living to make a house a home
It doesn’t make any difference how rich you get to be
How much your chairs and tables cost, how great your luxury
It isn’t home to you though it be the palace of a king,
Until somehow your soul is wrapped round everything.
- Paraphrase of Edgar Guest poem, Home

MALI-10069, 00365_17, Sahel, Mali, 1986

Mali

A  home is one of the most sacred of places.
It is a sanctuary into which men flee from the world’s perils and alarms.
It is a resting-place to which at close of day the weary retire to gather new strength for the
battle and toils of tomorrow.
It is the place where love learns its lessons,

where life is schooled into discipline and strength, where character is molded.
- J.R. Miller

ITALY-10292

Three years after the earthquake, L’Aquila, Italy

Every day is a journey, and the journey itself is home.
–  Bashō Matsuo

AFGHN-10103

Refugee Camp, Peshawar, Pakistan

 

AFGHN-12819

Qala-e Sabzi, Afghanistan

All journeys eventually end in the same place, home.
-  Chris Geiger

TANZANIA-10019

Tanzania near Mt. Kilamanjaro

Nor need we power or splendor,
wide hall or lordly dome;
the good, the true, the tender-
these form the wealth of home.
- Sarah J. Hale

PHILIPPINES-10072NF

Manila, Philippines

He is the happiest, be he king or peasant, who finds peace in his home.
- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

PERU-10013NF

Peru

Home is where one starts from.
- T.S. Eliot

INDIA-11760

India

 

YUGOSLAVIA-10095

Macedonia

All language is a longing for home.
- Jalaluddin Rumi, 13th-Century Persian poet

TIBET-10908

Tibet

My home is my retreat and resting place …

I try to keep this corner as a haven
against the tempest outside,
as I do another corner in my soul.
- Michel de Montaigne

PHILIPPINES-10059NF2

Manila, Philippines

Home is people. Not a place.
If you go back there after the people are gone,

then all you can see is what is not there any more.
- Robin Hobb

INDIA-10870

Varanasi, India

…Home is where, when you cross its threshold, you finally feel at peace.
-  Dennis Lehane

Kabul, Afghanistan, 2002, final print_milan

Kabul, Afghanistan

A home without a cat — and a well-fed, well-petted and properly revered cat —
may be a perfect home, perhaps, but how can it prove title?
- Mark Twain

RUSSIA-10044NF2

Russia

Home should be an oratorio of the memory,
singing to all our after life melodies and harmonies of
old remembered joy.
– Henry Ward Beecher

BALUCHISTAN-10005NF

Baluchistan, Pakistan

 

KASHMIR-10096

Kashmir

We are delighted to be included in Time Magazine’s Best-of-the-Year Picture Books

http://style.time.com/2012/12/10/tis-the-season-coffee-table-books/slide/steve-mccurry-the-iconic-photographs/

Morocco-10024; 00541_07; Morocco; 03/1988

Morocco

~  Please look for our Portrait App which will be available soon. ~

178 Responses to “Home Again”

  1. Simply stands above the rest…… the best!

  2. Rose-Lynne McDougall Says:

    Thank you so much for the amazing photographs. It is amazing to me to see the world through your eyes, as there is so much love in each picture. Please keep up the good work.

  3. Beautiful, as ever. A reminder to those of us unable to travel beyond home, to appreciate our surroundings. Thank you

  4. You really homesick unable to see all these places personally, excellent job, thanks for sharing.

  5. Excellent portfolio Steve..Congrats..

  6. Impressive portfolio Steve

  7. [...] in all of us ~ 1” I saw that Steve McCurry, who I follow, had done a similar post called “Home Again”. Take a look at his lovely [...]

  8. Anonymous Says:

    Spectacular! Great work! Congrats!

  9. [...] in all of us ~ 1″ I saw that Steve McCurry, who I follow, had done a similar post called “Home Again”. He takes lovely photos and had clearly beaten me to the [...]

  10. Love, tenderness, longing, joy, ….. Photos with a unique feeling. Amazing, beautiful and inspiring. Thank you for sharing your work.

  11. Sir……! i like….. birrliently done….

  12. fernando demello macedo Says:

    thank you for the inspiration and reflection brought by your work!

  13. I saw the video for the Pirelli calendar and was really moved by the beauty and intelligence of the models also because you included Sonia Braga, the locations selected in Rio…amazing artistry! Now this reportage on “Home” i love it! as a photographer in recent years i had lost my inspiration and fashion photography seemed empty and narcissistic but you have really inspired me. these photos in this reportage humble me . I love all the photos!

  14. the emotions u capture are indeed more than what a thousand words could ever give justice to.

  15. Unspoiled Cyprus Says:

    Reblogged this on Geography is easy! and commented:
    Stunning photos!

  16. Anonymous Says:

    Beautiful and breathtaking, thought provoking and real.

  17. Anna Maria Says:

    Excellent work… Thank you ..

  18. These photos are so incredibly breathtaking I can hardly stand it. You’ve captured the love of people and their cultures. Thank you so much for sharing!

  19. This is one of the best posts … I have come across – stunning photo of reality and proudness.
    Being a Swede …. I have to quote IKEA, Home is the most important place in the world.

  20. Reblogged this on Lagottocattleya and commented:
    Denne man är fantastisk.

  21. rajeev jain Says:

    super.

  22. Impressed – true storytelling through the lens!
    Kjetil

  23. I’m working on developing my street photography skills and your photo’s are inspiring.

  24. [...] A must-see:  The iconic photos of the inimitable Steve McCurry:  Home Again. [...]

  25. Awesome pictures and thoughts!

  26. I’m stunned! Such amazing photos.

  27. Always inspiring….Thanks for sharing…

  28. [...] be a perfect home, perhaps, but how can it prove title?”—Mark Twain. Quote and photograph from Home Again, a series of global photographs defining the idea of home, from the blog of photographer Steve [...]

  29. If I may reply a comment made December 19, 2012 at 21:56:
    Maybe you mean a house. If you had the trouble of reading all the wonderful words written by Steve McCurry you would understand that a home (non-material) is what a person makes of a house (material).

  30. Anonymous Says:

    I”m promising myself to you look at your photos everyday They quickly shift my perspective and all seems to come together .I thank you with my whole heart what you have seen and shared in your life will go on for all the ages.

  31. Amazing as always……

  32. Thanks! Steve.Merry Christmas Happy New Year… From Inkol…. Korea….

  33. [...] Steve McCurrys Fotoserie “Home Again“. [...]

  34. Thank you for sharing your work. I often come back for a second (and third) look. Particularly loved the Walking series and now the Home series.

  35. Anonymous Says:

    Great, as usual !!!!!

  36. Beautiful pictures, beautiful sentiments. Meaningful to me as I lost my home this year to a corrupt banking system. Meanwhile I’m working in Haiti trying to help build homes for people there.

  37. Wishing you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

  38. Your work is incredible. My favorite shot out of the bunch (somehow I managed to pick one!) is the one from Afghanistan. The green grass with the yellow buildings and blue sky really jump out at me for some reason. Thanks for sharing!

  39. I really love this post

  40. very nice for eyes pictures

  41. Home is people. Not a place.
    If you go back there after the people are gone,
    then all you can see is what is not there any more.
    – Robin Hobb

    Yes, I revisited this year therefore these words are comprehended with deep feelings: the ultimate experience of knowledge.

  42. Chetan Kumar Says:

    Great,Big fan of your work

  43. Stunning………

  44. Home is where the heart is. Thank you for the beautiful photos and quotes, reminding us that “home” is the same to all of us the world over.

  45. Beautiful work. Merry Christmas to you.

  46. Thank you, for sharing the world with us through your lenses.

  47. Reblogged this on panalyah's Blog and commented:
    My longing, is to wander the world and therefore, the world is my home.
    I hope that makes sense.. =)

  48. love the tones…….

  49. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Nagyra értékelem a stlusát, mesés képek…

  50. I follow your work quite a while. This is again an amazing series.

  51. Scatti fantastici, eccezionali!!!

  52. Lovely pictures! I can’t even decide which one is my favourite :)

  53. Oh, Steve. Evocative. Fine beyond words.

  54. fotografie meravigliose che immortalano le vere condiziioni di posti in cui,la maggior parte di noi, cercherebbe un resort…pluristellato!!

  55. Brilliant as always!

  56. lode torfs Says:

    The photos are genuin photojournalism in an old but good
    Tradition.
    Lode torfs
    Mechelen belgium europe

  57. great gallery about basic emotions – sent to twitter …

  58. how can I become a photographer like u?

  59. Glad I’ve found your blog. Some real pause-and-think stuff in there. Well done.

  60. Awesome set of pictures! You are great!

  61. What an amazing collection of photos! I second Stephehawk’s comment. I felt exactly the same way after looking at all the wonderful people and their homes.

  62. Reblogged this on Max510's Blog and commented:
    La casa e ciò che significa, immortalata nelle bellissime immagini del grande Steve McCurry.

  63. Wonderful shots… Thank you for sharing with us !

  64. [...] Ethiopia Home is the nicest word there is. – Laura Ingalls Wilder Hazara Neighborhood, Kabul, Afghanistan Drying Coffee, Brazil It takes a lot of living to make a house a home It doesn’t make any d…  [...]

  65. [...] Ethiopia Home is the nicest word there is. – Laura Ingalls Wilder Hazara Neighborhood, Kabul, Afghanistan Drying Coffee, Brazil It takes a lot of living to make a house a home It doesn’t make any d…  [...]

  66. Reblogged this on Gooseyanne's Blog and commented:
    What a wonderful trip to take from the comfort of your own home. He is a fantastic photographer.

  67. Awesome photos! They really tell the story.

  68. I am amazed! You are AMAZING!

  69. I love your work. You really connect with your subjects. All very inspirational. Thank you for sharing it.

  70. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing. What a gift!

  71. Reblogged this on Frauro and commented:
    There’s no place like home..

  72. Abhishek Panchadhya Says:

    No Words to Express……………….

  73. Eric Delost Says:

    Truly awesome indeed!I just love the simplicity of these images,they bring us closer to the human race.Keep up the good work!

  74. Ravishing. Thank you.

  75. Anonymous Says:

    I am beginning to love my home. again….

  76. Nazma Ali Says:

    Thank you so much love these images you have made my xmas xx

  77. I wish I was good enough to do what you do. LOVE IT!

  78. Extraordinary photographs that touch my heart and provoke my thinking as always. Thank you.

  79. Amazing….. these picture really touched my senses and my heart.
    Thank you for sharing….

  80. Reblogged this on mymotionpicture and commented:
    A Pictorial description home.. so far the best explanation I have come across!

  81. Anonymous Says:

    No words sir.. You are the best ever

  82. Niels Olsen Says:

    Simply beautiful, exquisite pictures. Thanks.

  83. Your photos are excellent !!! They impress me deeply! There’s an extraordinary beauty of composition, colour and atmosphere in them ! Thanks for sharing such a treasure!!

  84. Dear Mr McCurry,

    This body of work touched me in a lot of ways. Not only are your images (like always) compositionally very sound, but the colors and the textures in all those spaces that you have documented are beautiful. I have always loved how you travel throughout the globe, document your experiences and put them together as one body of work. Makes everyone connect to your work.
    I have always been a big fan of your work and even during my student years at an art college here in Pakistan, we were often shown your work as references during our photojournalism classes. Thank you for being such a big means of inspiration to all of us.

  85. Thanks for sharing. Looking at these humble souls, arouses in me that long yearning for a simple, peaceful living…… yes, that special home!!! So So inspiring………………………………….

  86. Anonymous Says:

    Looking at these humble souls, arouses in me that yearning for a simple, peaceful living…… yes, that special home!!! So So inspiring. Thanks for sharing

  87. joe heres Says:

    THIS IS SURELY.HISTORICAL,FOR THE FUTURE .RATIONAL PICTURES,EVERY ONE,HAS AN IMPRESIVE,MESSAGE. YOU ARE THE STAR,THAT GIVE AUDIENCE AND LOOKERS.SOME OF THE FUTURE PASS. THANKS

  88. I liked the last one (Morocco) most.

  89. Olga Celle Says:

    Steve,
    Once again your wonderful art makes us realize that we are one world, one people, despite the differences in dress or income. There is so much tenderness in your approach to people!
    I liked the picture of the Russian lady with her cat…She is so filled with love! The soft way her hands hold the kitty is like a girl holding all her wealth in her hands to show us…Isn’t what life is all about?

  90. Renee Kristol Says:

    Thank you…

    Sent from my iPad

  91. [...] Follow this link: Home Again « Steve McCurry's Blog [...]

  92. Steven Barnes Says:

    What a beautiful window to the world these pictures are.

  93. Home for Christmas. Fantastic photos.

  94. מעצב גרפי…

    [...]Home Again « Steve McCurry's Blog[...]…

  95. Excellent work. Home is where your Mom is staying. Thank you so much for sharing these amazing photos.

  96. Always……..breathtakingly beautiful images…..love, love, LOVE!

  97. free penny press Says:

    What a gift I just gave my eyes.. wonderful pictures, just wonderful!

  98. Wonderful pictures. Recognized the one fom Peru before I read the caption…that looks so familiar I said; I am from Peru currently living in China.

  99. Marita Dominguez Says:

    Thanks for every amazing pic… Full of humanity…
    My english is so poor to describe my emotions and feelings.
    Only…. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!

  100. Dear Mr McCurry…
    It is a wonderful post! Home!!!
    All the pics are great, but, somehow, the refugee camp in Peshawar left me with a big impression…One has to be very strong to be able to live there for days, and months, and even years, and still call it “home”…

  101. Again an excellent series, a window to our colourful world.

  102. To say that these are fantastic is understating the obvious.

    Sent from my iPad

  103. Thank you for sharing these wonderful images; full of stories and powerful messages.

  104. Impressive, as usual… I’ m jealous….

  105. The home is important but without the persons who live it it is not any more than a material without any sense

    • Anonymous Says:

      Maybe you mean a house. If you had the trouble of reading all the wonderful words written by Steve McCurry you would understand that a home (non-material) is what a person makes of a house (material).

    • Anonymous Says:

      if I may reply a comment made December 19, 2012 at 21:56:
      Maybe you mean a house. If you had the trouble of reading all the wonderful words written by Steve McCurry you would understand that a home (non-material) is what a person makes of a house (material).

  106. As always your pictures leave me speechless.

  107. Thank you for the amazing photos. They were all powerful and told stories of people with different goals and life.

  108. Anonymous Says:

    Breathtaking as ever!

  109. Peter Michael Dedes Says:

    Love the connective threads of this theme and its accompanying illustrative images. It speaks to my soul and my spirit. After all photography to me is an expression of ones heart.

  110. margarida marques Says:

    As always, beautiful and moving photos. Thanks for sharing.

  111. What wonderful images to remind us, as the year ends, of what’s best and most cherished in life.

  112. ancientfoods Says:

    I’m so glad to have found your blog, you photos are stunning and touch my soul. Lucky was the day you liked one of my posts and I found yours!

  113. Congrats on the Times selection Steve!

  114. Wonderful shots so meaningful and insightful

  115. Meltem Cıftcı Says:

    Thank so MUCH for sharing this. It is great.
    God bless you.

  116. Thank you! You are amazing. And for some reason you always post a theme that is playing a role in that very moment of my life. Thank you again.

  117. Thanks for all your stunning images in 2012. Best wishes for 2013.

  118. Muy impressionante!

  119. Marilee Pittman Says:

    Home is where the heart is , and you have captured that essence.

  120. There are no words but Thank You.

  121. Every time I receive a subscription newsletter from you, Steve, I have a feeling of opening a treasure box.

  122. I am in awe of your photos. We’re all human beings.

  123. Always so enjoy your photos and captions! Major congrats on being included in Time Magazine’s Best-of-the-Year Picture Books! . . . Well deserved!

  124. Linda Williamson Says:

    Fabulous. Think this is your best series. What a gift at Christmas and throughout the year.

  125. seeing the notice for your most-recent post is a lesson in discipline; like a child wanting to swipe a quick taste of the cookie batter, i always want an instant preview of what’s there and then later savor each image and the always-perfect text that makes your posts a tonic to the soul.
    thanks, z

  126. Which part of Kashmir this picture is from ? Thanks

    • Looks like a canal, off Lake Dal, in Srinagar. It is a wonderous shot. My eyes keep tracking up and down from the focal colours of the yellow-dressed woman, framed by green doors, to the poplar trees at the top – and then back down again. Really need to get a copy of this! A very interesting and photogenic place. Go there if you are able to.

  127. Just fantastic. I am going to enjoy following you.

  128. Very nice pictures

  129. As always you capture the deepest meanings of life – in this case home.
    Congratulations on being selected by Time. It’s no surprise to me.

  130. Steve I just love the “Kashmir” image, its got so much depth.

  131. This photography is incredibly inspiring. I feel like it brings my emotions to the surface and boosts my imagination. After looking at all these photos I want to go write a story or paint something.

  132. I see your photos, the places the people, and I am transformed and gifted with a love of the world. For the need to be compassionate and to know these individuals and places. Thank you for your work and for sharing the part of your soul that is in each of them.

  133. meaningful photos

  134. Another gorgeous collection of photographs. These are compelling stories you tell with your camera. I absolutely love the ‘three years after the quake in Italy’ photo. It’s everything a photo should be.

  135. another lovely story. I especially like the man in India, reading a newspaper on the stoop. Something so elegant about his posture, for such a simple act:-) — Thanks!

  136. Very thought provoking … as I sit within my “home” … we are so blessed and yet are those within your images not also blessed ..

  137. [...] As I posted “The ache for home lives in all of us” I received an email (40 minutes prior) and noticed that Steve McCurry, who I follow, had done a similar post called “Home Again”. [...]

  138. Oh, I am just at a loss for words. Thank you for sharing these amazing and exquisite images, Steve!

  139. Your home again photographs are so spectacular,I wish I could Reblog some of them. Especially the ones close to my original home. Thank you for sharing.
    Ranu

  140. Peter Forrest, M.D. Says:

    MAGNIFICENT! May the Peace of these Holy Days be with you.

  141. Humans are very adaptive to the environment, and that’s the secret to survival. They can adapt any environment to be their home, even a road to it. Amazing set addressing the basic human trait!

  142. 이수진 Says:

    작가님 사진보면서 힐링하고 감여.. 오느른 우울한 날

  143. Anonymous Says:

    Awesome

  144. fantastic…!!! photos that make me feel present in those places where they are to be taken!! wake me pure feelings

  145. sushree das Says:

    wow

  146. Amazing to say the least!

  147. Stunningly beautiful and inspirational.

  148. The fragility of human lives.

  149. You are such an inspiration to me. As I prepare to visit and photograph India for the first time I look to you as the benchmark of travel photography to inspire towards. Thank you for sharing.

  150. ahmet sen Says:

    beatiful works,thank you…

  151. It is difficult to find one place to call home in the USA today.

  152. Judith Atkinson Says:

    Thank you for sharing your vision, your great gifts with us. You have changed how I see the world.

    It may have been beaten to a cliché, but home is surely where the heart is, yes?

    Judith Atkinson

  153. Tanzania – that’s the kitchen I feel comfortable, not extraordinary clean but looks like place you will love to prepare meals and spend some time talking next to furnace. Thanks for another journey around the globe by your great set Steve.

  154. I am quite delighted by this wonderful combination of images and text. I just finished doing a 12-day series (12 Views of Brooklyn at brooklyn-artisan.net) so am hyper aware of pace and context and emotional resonance. I wish I had a prize to award to yours!

  155. Once again, stopped me in my tracks. Have ridden (a motorcycle) across the Baluchi desert. And these grizzled, gun-toting gents rarely smiled then, and I guess rarely smile now.

  156. Beautiful images, touching sentiments. A wonderful opportunity to consider the meaning of “home.” Thank you for the timely gift.

  157. AMAZING AGAIN, STEVE – LOOKING FORWARD TO A NEXT WORKSHOP WITH YOU – YOUR ADVICE WAS INVALUABLE

  158. Exquisite. Simply Exquisite.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26,523 other followers

