Two by Two

BRAZIL-10065

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead.
Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow.
Just walk beside me and be my friend.
- Albert Cam

INDIA-10754-(1)

India

If we are a metaphor of the universe, the human couple is the metaphor par excellence,
the point of intersection of all forces and the seed of all forms.
The couple is time recaptured, the return to the time before time.
- Octavio Paz

Rome, Italy, 10/1994, 00472_06, ITALY-10054

Italy

Introducing our Portrait app: 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/portraits-by-steve-mccurry/id589821521?mt=8

ITALY-10068

Italy

In the arithmetic of love, one plus one equals everything, and
two minus one equals nothing.
- Mignon McLaughlin

USA-10394

New York, United States


ETHIOPIA-10160NF2-(1)

Ethiopia

 

INDIA-10337-(1)

India

Two are better than one because they have a good reward for their labor.
- Ecclesiastes 4:9 KJV

INDIA-10679NF2, Bombay, India, 09/1993. Textiles,

India

Only a life lived for others is worth living.
- Albert Einstein

ITALY-10076-(1)

Italy

Friendship is born at that moment when
one person says to another, ‘What! You too? I
thought I was the only one.”
- C. S. Lewis

MOROCCO-10068-(1)

Morocco

No road is long with good company.
- Turkish Proverb

CHINA-10052

Luoyang, China


PERU-10006NF2

Peru

 A mother is a person who seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five
people, promptly announces she never did care for pie.
 – Tenneva Jordan

INDIA-10214-(1)

India


HONDURAS-10001-(1)

Honduras

I cannot think of any need in childhood as strong as the
need for a father’s protection.
- Sigmund Freud

KASHMIR-10015-(1)

Kashmir


AFGHN-10028NF

Afghanistan

 

CAMBODIA-10051-(1)

Cambodia


BURMA-10040NF

Burma/Myanmar

Thou art thy mother’s glass, and she in thee
Calls back the lovely April of her prime.
- William Shakespeare

AFGHN-12678NF-(1)

Afghanistan


ITALY-10125-(1)

Italy

Brothers and sisters are as close as hands and feet.
- Vietnamese Proverb

TIBET-10100NF3

Tibet

ITALY-10362NF3

Italy


AFGHN-12804NF

Afghanistan


TIBET-10114NF2

Tibet


INDIA-10307N

Goa, India

 Every action in our lives touches on some chord that will vibrate in eternity.
- Edwin Hubbel Chapin

UGANDA-10002

Kampala, Uganda

It is one of the most beautiful compensations of this life that no man can
sincerely try to help another without helping himself.
- Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

FIJI-10020

Fiji

If I can stop one heart from breaking,
I shall not live in vain;
If I can ease one life the aching,
Or cool one pain,
Or help one fainting robin
Unto his nest again,
I shall not live in vain.
- Emily Dickinson
=

Steve McCurry:  In the Flow of Time
Photographs
from Asia 1980 – 2010
Kunstmuseum-Wolfsburg
Wolfsburg, Germany
Opens January 19, 2013

Steve McCurry’s India
Chris Beetles Fine Photographs
3-5 Swallow Street, London, W1B 4DE
Opens on January 10, 2013

Announcing our new Portraits app:
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/portraits-by-steve-mccurry/id589821521?mt=8

180 Responses to “Two by Two”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Good! We are linking to this great article
    on our website.

  2. […] “Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend” Albert Camus dal blog di  Steve Mccurry […]

  3. Beautiful, all of them.
    In my opinion, the one in the taxi is one of your best.

  4. You and your camera are an amazing pair. Thank you for sharing these fantastic images.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    HERMOSOS TODOS TUS TRABAJOS….!!! FELICITACIONES :)

  6. Antonella Pilichi Says:

    Ho visto la tua mostra a Genova e sono rimasta sorpresa perché mi ha trattenuto più di tre ore e sono uscita soddisfatta, incantata, più dentro agli orrori della guerra. Grazie per il tuo lavoro e la tua arte

  7. Amazing, wonderful, beautiful and inspiring. Thank you for sharing your work. I wish more beautiful and interesting photo projects and ideas.

  8. you are ROCK wid colors, Mr.Steve!

  9. Absolutly amazing, everything is beutiful, is inspiring. Thank you !

  10. Wagner Mattos/ Brasil Says:

    Obrigado por compartihar.Belíssimas !!!

  11. Nice pics….Thanks for sharing.

    – Hoparoundindia.com

  12. Anonymous Says:

    Brilliantly insightful post.

  13. blackbirdnath Says:

    Reblogged this on Blackbird singing and commented:
    Incredible blog of an incredible photographer, plus some small thought to make us think. Check him out!

  14. Sir , All Pictures So Beautiful & Creative, Great Work …..

  15. Anonymous Says:

    I love the idea of two by two. It is so simple, but so powerful. Great photos

  16. You have been my inspiration for many years. If only I felt within my comfort zone photographing people. I feel intrusive, but you, you capture their very essence leaving them with their dignity! Kudos!

  17. Meravigliose. Presto visiterò la mostra qui a Genova.So già che sarà magica come queste immagini.Splendide anche le parole che le accompagnano.

  18. Awesome set of Pictures. Every theme is full of varieties. Great Work! Truely Inspiration.

  19. SUPRIYA BISWAS Says:

    NOW YOU ARE IN INDIA?Always something new to see and to learn from you. I WANT TO MEET YOU ? HOW CAN IT POSSIBLE? I LIVE IN KOLKATA INDIA

  20. Reblogged this on Geek Detected and commented:
    There’s blogging, and then there’s Steve McCurry !

  21. Absolutely brilliant ! yet i’m speechless *two thumbs up*
    Reblogged this on Geek Detected .

  22. jidhujose Says:

    excellent clicks

  23. Thank you for sharing!
    The “2-getherness” i call a small series on my website.

    http://www.floriannidecker.com/sht/id051004zw/ga-zw.html

  24. The pictures and the quotations go hand in hand and compete in excellence. They soothe our minds and dispel the cobweb of melancholy from our hearts

  25. Good luck and Happy New Year!

  26. AMAZING !THANK YOU !

  27. Connie Jensen Says:

    thank you. beautiful images as always….

    best Connie

  28. Simply stunning….!!

  29. Tobias M. Says:

    Humble salutations. Amidst all the darkness LIGHT. Thank You.

  30. yu inkol Says:

    Wow!!! Fantastic Work!!!

  31. Sali Moffat Says:

    Beautiful photos WOW !!

  32. TIBETE : Fabulous !!!

  33. Humanity in all its perfections :-)

  34. ivy lim Says:

    This so lovely album! I like it~

  35. lovely, precious and delicious!

  36. Beautiful! Looking forward to seeing more in 2013! :)

  37. Anonymous Says:

    The beauty in the hands of an artist can easily get in to the heart of the spectator….

  38. landscape, decisive moment, colors composed alltogether in all pictures. I’m sure it’s very hard to fish such a picture. I totally love them, cheers sir!

  39. Two by Two « Steve McCurry’s Blog…

    Steve McCurry is a fantastic photographer who recently published the stunning photograph of Rio de Janeiro shown below on his blog.This summer, I will be sailing from the UK to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, which is the finishing port for Leg 1 in the Clippe…

  40. Inspiring – thanks for sharing

  41. shyam prasad Says:

    Steve sir..You are my GOD !!!

  42. tus fotos invitan a hacer un recorrido imaginario por lejanos paises

  43. billheap@iinet.net.au Says:

    Awesome, just awesome …I just wish that I had the words and photos of wisdom on Steve’s pages early enough to straighten out the curly path in my life

  44. Very beautiful images and I love the sayings.

  45. immagini spettacolari che lasciano emozioni forti

  46. Anonymous Says:

    I will always love Brasil. Thank you for touching my heart and making me feel the way I did 24 years ago.

  47. Silvio PADULA Says:

    …Penso che il pensiero, la parola, l’udito, l’olfatto, il sentimento, il risentimento….siano tutti racchiusi, sviluppatori di queste foto. Grazie ancora una volta (l’ennesima), Steve !

  48. Hello,

    Your photographs are so beautiful! Really inspiring … so I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Hopefully you’ll welcome this news. If you prefer not to accept the award, I certainly understand, but I hope you will visit the other nominees, and they will visit you, just the same. To see more about the award and accepting this nomination, please visit my post at http://wp.me/p1w5ra-H8. All the best!

  49. So beautiful, so moving, so ….

  50. valeria Says:

    Una fotografia splendida da mozzare il fiato! e posti meravigliosi ho ricevuto delle sensazioni bellissime. Grazie

  51. stupende immagini che raffigurano questo nostro meraviglioso pianeta nella quotidianità di vita mondiale tra paure povertà amore e ….

  52. Hi there, my partner and myself were admiring the images – especially the first, Parque da Cidade, Niteroi, Rio De Janeiro. He is a local of Niteroi and we were wondering how you came to know the lookout as it is not a well known place to visit in such a famous city. Working on my own portfolio in our travels I found this to be a really beautiful place as well and think you captured the visual busyness of the landscape and tranquility of the spot above a bustling city in a remarkable way. Thankyou for sharing!

  53. [...] interest in photography or poetry, I heartily recommend checking out a post on his blog called “Two by Two”. He has brought together a group of images spanning his carer which deal with the subject of [...]

  54. It is wonderful and beautiful, yet breath taking seen these pictures. Really master pieces that can move sights and sounds in people. Connections in the lives of people in this world……………

  55. Anonymous Says:

    gratitude.. be thi year of full of gratitude and grace for the love and beauty that we have.

  56. It was an honour to met you in Dubai. You left an an ever lasting impression on me like your pictures ! Happy new year ! We will meet again :)

  57. My wife sent me here to see your photos, she feels you are the best photographer she has seen and I certainly agree with her. Thank you so much for all the beauty you share.

  58. Anonymous Says:

    i have almost cried with some of your pictures…you are really amazing!!! good job

  59. This is one of the most beautiful and amazing theme’d series I have seen on WordPress to date. At first I assumed it would be limited to couples, but you captured such a variety of couples and emotions. Thank you for sharing!

  60. DONATELLA Says:

    QUANDO LE IMMAGINI ARRIVANO OVUNQUE, COME FRECCE IMPAZZITE.
    VEDERE GLI SCATTI è COME SENTIRE ODORI, PROFUMO, SOLITUDINI, POVERTA’ E PAURE.
    INDIMENTICABILE.

  61. Hi Steve,

    I am delighted with these photos and with the words you chose to go with the images. It’s an encourageous way of beginning the year.

    Nevertheless… nothing made in Lisbon…

    Lisbon is a so beautiful city, one of the most beautiful of all, it has a splendid light and you should not forget that Portugal is the country of poets.

    But, besides that, even if you miss my country :), receive my congratulations for your work.

    And have a excellent 2013!

  62. Happy New Year Steve! Although many of the photos were seen already but from a different perspective – here I find them in another (2×2). Your theme and quotes are always making me learn photography once again (after 25 years) – each of them is A LESSON IN COLOR, each providing a different dimension of life in this world! I think you are going through your archive and each time a new concept is flashing in your mind – now you are playing an Editor yourself. Thanks once again for the lessons!

  63. Beautiful! So inspiring. Thank you!

  64. Anonymous Says:

    This is the better way to become a new year: with your photos.
    Each one of these are a masterpiece!

  65. meritxellpmasip Says:

    Thank you for sharing these beautiful images.

  66. I meandered this, your latest path late last night…& as ever, you have struck my heart with images, poetry & prose. The Albert Camus quote traces my life & has been an endorsement since childhood… Most grateful to you, good sir!

  67. Deep and contemplative, so many touching images.
    Thanks for sharing at blog.

  68. Never miss a chance to feel the emotion depicted by every picture you took, Steve. Thanks for touching my heart.

  69. Reblogged this on Max510's Blog and commented:
    Altri fantastici capolavori del grande Steve McCurry… Buona visione !

  70. Happy New Year and thanks for your art that enriches my life…

  71. Incredible, thank you so much for sharing your work here.

    These real photo’s made my morning.

    LDS

  72. Ana Gonçalves Says:

    all the picture are very beautiful and give me a lot of good sensations

  73. Anonymous Says:

    Lovely Photographs
    Thanks
    Nusrat

  74. Anonymous Says:

    from egypt i love u steve ur amezing

  75. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks Steve your posts.
    Nusrat

  76. Alan Parsons Says:

    Your images are so beautiful. At the start of another very difficult year for many people they are a tick in the box of why life is worth living. We will be in London in January and hpe to visit your exhibition.

  77. love how you manage the light and colors…

  78. Reblogged this on Roshan's Blog ♥ and commented:
    Awesome…

  79. Your blog is breath taking, I am lost for words, what can I say other then ask your permission to reblog a few of your posts/photos to my blog, please let me know if so. Thanks Betty

  80. OMGoodness, this is absolutely AMAZING!

  81. Anonymous Says:

    Grazie , alcune non le conoscevo , bellissima selezione , Buon Anno auguri a tutti !!!!

  82. eleftheria sintrou Says:

    perfectt!!!!

  83. Bonjour !

    Magnifiques, splendides, superbes photos !!!! Merci pour ce beau voyage, pour la pureté dans les regards affamés ou remplis de tendresse, d’amour…..pour ces paysage d’une infinie beauté !
    Artites peintre sur la Rochelle (France) puis-je avoir votre accord pour peindre certaines de vos photos ???
    Je vous ai déjà envoyé une demande, je n’ai pas eu de réponse, par ce biais peut-être…..
    En vous remerciant par avance….
    Bien cordialement
    Annie

  84. Reblogged this on giolic and commented:
    If I can stop one heart from breaking,
    I shall not live in vain;
    If I can ease one life the aching,
    Or cool one pain,
    Or help one fainting robin
    Unto his nest again,
    I shall not live in vain.
    – Emily Dickinson

  85. Happy New Year, and thanks for the share. That two old man @India is my favorite but that hospital picture from Uganda struck my heart.

  86. Meenakshi Says:

    your work makes me speechless and an inch closer to life. I live my dream of living life and witnessing its beauty through ur amazing work. Thanks a lot

  87. Amazing photos! Thank you!

  88. Just wow :) amazing collection of photographs…..brilliant theme….people like you make me question myself about my lack of such creative thoughts….. Super Super awesome :)

  89. Anonymous Says:

    thank always incredible inspiring ….

  90. [...] See the original post here: Two by Two « Steve McCurry's Blog [...]

  91. nikilinpilates Says:

    Reblogged this on NikiLinPilates and commented:
    So inspiring

  92. All of these images are wonderful. I especially love the photo of the Indian woman and child through the car window….really stunning. Happy New Year!

  93. These photos tell absolutely amazing and beautiful stories. Thank you so much for sharing them!

  94. Thank God to give you here in this life. I started my new year with really touching photos.

  95. I am sure you get so many fans and followers saying how amazing your work is. It really is amazing and more than that to me, it is inspiring. When I look through these photos, some beautiful, some moving, some out of this world, I only hope i will be as lucky to have a portfolio like this one day oh simply to have the experience you have had through the years of doing something you love.
    Thank you for this.

  96. Absolutely stunning! Wow….

  97. These are wonderful stories! Thank you.

  98. Michael Lalonde Says:

    What a joy to see photos from all over the world delivered in photographic excellence!😃

  99. Many touching photos, especially of the little girl by the car in India, the nurses, and the angels walking along the streets in Italy.

  100. Ann Griffin Says:

    Such sweetness fills my heart looking at Two by Two. Thank you again and again Steve

  101. Anna Maria Says:

    Fantastic theme, fabulous pic..!! Happy 2013

  102. Gladys Salazar Says:

    Amazing! Looking at your photographs always give me this feeling of awe.

  103. words are not enough therefore I wept at the beauty of this post , reblogging

  104. Marietta Yandoc Says:

    Just when we imagine we have seen more of the same pictures, here comes Steve McCurry with entirely different ones! Endless surprise, endless enchantment!

  105. The picture from Macedonia is very touching. Thank you. Great blog!

  106. Beautiful stories with each photo. Spectacular photos!

  107. ancientfoods Says:

    All the pictures are inspiring especially to me the one of the woman in Burma.

  108. Awesome

  109. Fantastiche, foto stupende
    Felice Anno Nuovo
    Patrizia

  110. Reblogged this on restlessjo and commented:
    There’s blogging, and then there’s Steve McCurry! I have never reblogged before, but how can I not?

  111. I had a C. S. Elliot moment with a blogger tonight and then I found this post. Those nurses on the steps in Venice, the two little angels… your work is amazing. Thank you for enriching my life. Hope you find more friendships in 2013.

  112. “Family of man” continued. :o)
    Inspiring.

  113. Stunningly fine collection of images. Each sings of the beauty of togetherness with the deftness and gentleness of a master, Steve.

  114. Carlo Pascucci Says:

    Amazing , bell anzi bellissimo

  115. Amazing pictures!!!

  116. Each photograph more beautiful than the one before, and those before are gorgeous!

  117. More fantastic photographs – thank you for sharing the world with us. Doubt if I will be able to make the London exhibition but good luck with it.

  118. mohammed nadir Says:

    Admirable Travail…meilleurs vux !

    Mohammed Nadir

    Date: Wed, 2 Jan 2013 13:14:36 +0000 To: nadirmoha@hotmail.com

  119. Beautiful, gentle and inspiring. As ever. The sole reason why I need to travel with my camera.

  120. Outstanding pictures and well selected quotes. Great blog, Steve. It’s always invigorating to stop by and admire your work. Wesley (Colltales)

  121. Varlice Says:

    Thank you so much for such touching pieces of life.
    God bless you!
    Happy New Year!

  122. Just cant stop liking ur post!
    Just wonder how do u find such frames!
    Am a FAN!!!

  123. Madhu Sudan Modha Says:

    Happy New Year, Steve……May this year be the beginning of…..newer horizons…..and new visions….in your quest for….your inner journey! What a wonderful evening…..it was to have had a chance to hear,see and experience your presence at the RGS in December 2012!!!
    Hope…..your little amulet……brings you joy, fulfilment and peace of mind in your life!
    God bless you…..on all your travels……

  124. Great as always. Thank you.

  125. Reblogged this on Verde Holístico and commented:
    Great thought! Excellent picture!

  126. I love your photos and the words fit perfect.

  127. Joaquim Says:

    Une collection magnifique! Ces portraits sont d’une beauté sublime! Bravo!!!!

  128. excelente trabajo , fantastico !!! bello ….muy bello

  129. An exquisite series of photographs Steve. Your quotes are perfect and they remind how important our relationships really matter.

    I look forward to more of your work!

  130. Amazing Steve McCurry ! <3

  131. Capturing a special moment among people is a timeless art. Steve McCurry, you are forever and inspiration.

  132. Happy new year to Steve McCurry and all his fan (like me)
    Again a good serie

  133. Gratiela Says:

    so beautifullll !!!!!!

  134. Steve, these are very nice and heart-touching photographies. Thank you for show it.

  135. You are so amazing. You make me want to get away from this %#+€ computer, grab my camera, pack a bag and go. Always inspired. Thank you for sharing these moments and quotes.

  136. Words are superfluous. May the new year give you joy.

  137. only Steve can transform reality into a dream

  138. ballan33 Says:

    As usual, you have the insight to give use reason to pause and see the world as it should be seen. Thank you

  139. Happy New Year – May it be filled with health and joy!

  140. Very rich, compelling sense of humanity…thank you, again.

  141. Amazing job! Well done.

  142. Thank you. As ever, your photographs are beautiful and stimulating.

  143. Absolutely fabulous! Thank you for letting me share your world.

  144. Thanks for share your photos Steve! Really impressive shots, as all of your work.

    Curiously, in my website I’ve a gallery called “we are two”, and its principal theme is just the same as you posted here: two people.

    http://www.yagoruizphotography.com/galleries/, and go to “we are two” gallery.

    Thanks!

  145. you always leave a tear of emotion in my eye…. thank you for making me feel!

  146. +2 Great pictures. Jay

  147. What gorgeous photos! They should be published in a coffee table book!

  148. Chaotiqual Says:

    Reblogged this on chaotiqual.

  149. What an incredible artist you are! Thank you ever so much for these exquisite moments

  150. You reach right in and touch our hearts and our minds and make them both open……There is no greater gift.

  151. Annie PAYET VINCENDEAU Says:

    Hello ! I dont speak english very well but i just want to know if i can utilisize your phtography for my painting watercolor, i ash you your autorisation…..thank you for your response

    And thank you a lot for your best photos, it’s very very nice to looking for…

    Annie

  152. Fabulous theme and beautiful images, as always!

  153. Great photos, as usual… Afghanistan (father and daughter), India (two children), Kashmir (girl on the boat) and Tibet (two children) are my favorites… * Thank you *

  154. The photos and quotes are so inspiring, thank you for sharing them

  155. Absolutely stonking imagery. Hats off!

  156. Ana maria teresa de Hollanda cavalcanti Says:

    Thank you very much!!! Have a beautiful 2013!!!

  157. lovely selection!

    Best wishes for 2013!

  158. Absolutely brilliant!
    Always something new to see and to learn from you.
    Have a great 2013!

  159. These remind me that the world is full of tenderness…. beautiful, as always….

  160. I reblogged your post.The photographs are so beautiful. I had to have them in my blog.Thank you,Sir!

  161. Anonymous Says:

    Superb as usual.

  162. beesankahel Says:

    fabulous..

  163. Happy New Year! I hope this new year will bring back all that is joyful and beautiful,just like your blog.
    Thank you for posting these amazing photographs!

  164. Anonymous Says:

    what can I say

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26,427 other followers

