Silent Language of Hands

AFGHN-12947

Afghanistan

Behold the hands
how they promise, conjure, appeal, menace, pray, supplicate, 

refuse, beckon, interrogate, admire, confess, cringe, instruct, command, 
mock and what not besides, with a variation and multiplication of
variation which makes the tongue envious.
– Michel de Montaigne

AFGRL-10002

Sharbat Gula, Nasir Bagh Refugee Camp, Peshawar, Pakistan

 

VIETNAM-10042

Vietnam

Our hands often reveal what we really think but do not say.
They can show a range of feelings and emotions from confusion and frustration
to joy, understanding, love, and compassion. 

AFGHN-10089NF

Afghanistan

Among all species, our human hands are unique — not only in what they can accomplish,
but also in how they communicate. Human hands can paint the Sistine Chapel, pluck a guitar,
maneuver surgical instruments, chisel a David, forge steel, and write poetry.
They can grasp, scratch, poke, punch, feel, sense, evaluate, hold and mold the world around us.
- Joe Navarro

USA-10003

Florida, United States

 

USA-10169NF2

New York City, United States

When we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives means the most to us,
we often find that it is those who, instead of giving advice, solutions,or cures,
 have chosen rather to share our pain
 and touch our wounds with a warm and tender hand.
- Henri Nouwen

CUBA-10016

Cuba

Let us touch the dying, the poor, the lonely and the unwanted
according to the graces we 
have received and
let us not be ashamed or slow to do the humble work.
- Mother Teresa

CHINA-10040

Tibet

Hands calm us, feed us, and scratch our backs.
They intimidate, bless, encourage, and stop us.  They soothe and caress.
They draw our attention to the good and the bad, often suggesting exuberance or fear.
- Charles Flowers introduction to Elliott Erwitt’s Handbook

MALI-10008

Mali

 

KASHMIR-10020

Kashmir

 

TIBET-10540

Tibet

Hands have saved lives and taken them just as easily.
They create the saviors of life as well as the purveyors of death.
Creating and destroying with a single move
a finger can move mountains or search the unknown heavens.
Hands live to caress and love.
Hands live to fight and die.
Forever living hands, forever exploring hands.
- Bruce Alan Humphrey

AFGHN-12728NF

Afghanistan

To receive everything, one must open one’s hands and give.
- Taisen Deshimaru

BURMA-10026

Burma

Your hand opens and closes, opens and closes.
Your deepest presence is in every small contracting and expanding, the two as
beautifully balanced and coordinated as birds’ wings.
- Rumi ( 1207 – 1273)

IRELAND-10001

Ireland

 

JAPAN-10036

Japan

Hold a true friend with both hands
- African Proverb

PARAGUAY-10030

Paraguay

To pray means to open your hands before God.
- Henri Nouwen

USA-10001

United States

 

AFGHN-13265NF

Kunar Province, Afghanistan

Kunar Province, Afghanistan

RUSSIA-10108NF

Russia

The hands which beckon,
embrace, soothe, and comfort us
Bid us farewell.

00443_14; 00443_ 010; Uganda; Africa; 2001;

Uganda

…For saints have hands that pilgrims’ hands do touch, And palm to palm is holy palmers’ kiss.
Romeo and Juliet, Act I, Scene 5
-William Shakespeare

===

Screen-shot-2013-01-10-at-2.57.44-PM

 

331 Responses to “Silent Language of Hands”

  1. Fantastico manjasctico Says:

    fantastico

  2. an image is the language of site, and the way you express yourself is captivating.

  3. Saud A Faisal Says:

    Reblogged this on Around us.

  4. Simplement….IMPRESSIONNANT

  5. Reblogged this on Mi LuMaCa and commented:
    Without words…it’s wonderful.

  6. Reblogged this on Mi LuMaCa, your photographs are amazing, I’m wordless…thank u for sharing…:)

  7. Your photography is inspiring. I love the way you capture emotion.

  8. ichigomongo Says:

    Reblogged this on Puro-Ruth and commented:
    Oh gosh. This made me cry. Hands speak. The pictures tell more.

  9. Beautiful. I have no words ….

  10. amazing, honestly moved to tears.

  11. Reblogged this on between the light and the shadow and commented:
    the language of hands, like the language of eyes, light, movement, so much is captured in a gesture, I am grateful to photography and all those who share theirs, we are transported….

    I am grappling these days with my freedom or lack thereof to post pictures of friends, children, strangers…freely, what of privacy, safety, copywrite?

  12. Love the images – your photographs are great!

  13. tracey28 Says:

    Your page was very thought provoking and I enjoyed it very much.

  14. Amazing photos! Really moving and beautiful.

  15. Kudos dude; a beautiful collection of images and quotes here.

  16. I have been surfing online greater than three hours lately, yet I never discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It’s lovely value enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content material as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  17. Reblogged this on The Unapologetic Redhead and commented:
    Incredible pictures

  18. animamcbrown Says:

    Thought: Imagine someone were to capture you as you are right this moment. What story would your hands tell? Beautiful display of such moving pictures. Well done.

  19. These pictures are breathtakingly stunning. Beautiful. Blessings!

  20. I never thought there was so much thoughts and meaning to what the hands or capable of. Now i hav a different level of resspect for my hands…thanks for opening my mind.

  21. Reblogged this on wewillcleanitforyou and commented:
    I never thought there was so much truth in my pair of hands. N ow i have a different level of respect for my pair of hands.

  22. Reblogged this on Little Frog Prince and commented:
    Powerful images, magnificent work.

  23. Photography that goes straight to the heart of the viewers, magnificent!

  24. wonderful and amazing and emotional picture gallery. and each picture has a expression and wants to tell us anything.
    Thanks for sharing.

  25. Reblogged this on Reflections of a rising humanist and commented:
    Absolutely beautiful.

  26. Reblogged this on Amy Zeng.

  27. Nandini Gurung Says:

    Dear Steve,all these just pierces my soul and makes the flame of god come to a standstill,which at times flickers with the trials of life.love them immensely as they promise us of the goodness of god’s gifted life.

  28. Reblogged this on blueberetmum and commented:
    Very touching…

  29. Beautiful! I’m speechless!

  30. Extraordinarily awesome!

  31. fortyjarsfull Says:

    Very beautiful and moving .

  32. Awesome photographs with a great theme!!

  33. Reblogged this on smileacrossmiles and commented:
    Awesome Photographs and very meaningful and touching quotes. Steve McCurrys’s blog on Silent Language of Hands.

  34. Amazing piece Mr.Mc.Curry!! Reblogging this.

  35. powerful pictures…each tells a story!

  36. All of these images are fantastic.

  37. threemagical Says:

    Great photos and meaningful quotes. Really enjoyed this post!

  38. epic pictures from around the world.you are living our dreams.so let you never awake.we will live through you .thank you

  39. I have no words to describe the impact these photos and the message made on me. Thank you!

  40. Great post. Reblogged on my blog… Thanks you for sharing.

  41. Wonderful thought and beautiful pictures!
    Great Post!

  42. Stunning photos….keep sharing.

  43. Stunning! What amazing photography! :D

  44. Reblogged this on JavaGirl's Life and commented:
    JavaGirl says: I couldn’t resist reblogging these gorgeous photos! Hands are such a wonderful part of our soul, body and heart. Just a small touch can lift someone’s spirit.

  45. The photograph of the girl with the green eyes, I remember from childhood. That portrait is immensely captivating.

  46. what a theme, what an imagination, what a variance in feelings, what expressions, what a life capturing untold stories – just the hands – and the rest is ours to appreciate – great thought.

  47. Reblogged this on Book of Gabe and commented:
    Absolutely Beautiful. Take a moment to see how much subtly is conveyed through the simplest of gestures. Further proof we tend to know eachother before we ever mutter a word.

  48. Reblogged this on liannajohnstone and commented:
    One of the most powerful portrait photographers on the Planet! My inspiration!

  49. enchanting ! never knew my hands could be louder than words !

  50. 2nd picture is Awesome. I saw documnetry on this..

  51. Speechless ! Another proof of amazing work done by magical hands !

  52. absolutely brilliant, the concept and idea so beautifully put in pictures. thew bottom line is COMPASSION AND LOVE, it conveyed to me

  53. The photo of ‘Sharbat Gula, Nasir Bagh Refugee Camp, Peshawar, Pakistan’ demonstrates how the hands are the path to the eyes, which are the gateway to the soul.

  54. Powerful images, great quotes to accompany them as well. You sir are an amazing photographer. I recently became infatuated with the silent language of hands myself, and photographed many people’s hands in Central and South America as the universe would allow. Very inspirational.

  55. This Blog has moved me! This is awsome! Great work! :)

  56. Anonymous Says:

    This is awesome! :) Great work!

  57. Reblogged this on Shuts and Stories and commented:
    Our hands express a lot of things…

  58. Reblogged this on Western Mind Eastern Thinking and commented:
    Steve McCurry is my favorite photographer. This is a beautiful collection of images with the focus on the human hand.

  59. Reblogged this on MzZOOMER and commented:
    Simple concept, visually stunning, beautiful work. Enjoy this reblogged post of Steve McCurry’s work.

  60. Simple concept, beautiful result. Of course you must have the quality and perspective such as yours, to pull this off so eloquently. Really wonderful. Thanks.

  61. Reblogged this on Walking Alone.

  62. Reblogged this on Life on the Horizon and commented:
    This makes my soul sigh and my heart sing. Exactly the type of photography that I want to leave behind.

  63. Reblogged this on The Basics of Photography and commented:
    Insperation. The hands are an amazing subject to shoot. The depth and emotion in the hands tell a story and give the picture texture. It draws your eye and makes a statement. Photos taken of hands have depth and deep meaning.

  64. Incredible portraits. Have to be honest but I was taken more by the faces than the hands, with a couple exceptions. I’ve never viewed your portraits before. Very very good.

  65. Very moving….

  66. Simplement beau !! Inattendu!!!

  67. No words for the beauty behind these photos. Just love.

  68. Reblogged this on Reinhart Nell – Work in Progress and commented:
    Wonderful photos as always from Steve McCurry. Particularly apt for my next assignment – capturing relationships of three separate groups of strangers. Hands can often communicate what words and eyes cannot.

  69. Wow. The second one (Sharbat Gula, Nasir Bagh Refugee Camp, Peshawar, Pakistan) will stay with me.

  70. Reblogged this on Empowered Thoughts and commented:
    Powerful images that speak volumes

  71. Reblogged this on marz stuff and commented:
    It is very interesting to see this as Freshly Press. I’ve always had a curiosity about hands and what they tell us from each person. I believe that hands are truly windows to one person’s personality…
    I’ve always wanted to do a series of photographs about hands, and I actually started by capturing my dad’s hand while he ran it on a wall.

  72. Beautiful images! Thank you :-)

  73. Stunning photography and a powerful message concerning the importance of these small part of our bodies that can either heal, hurt, love or hate. This is powerful! Thank you for sharing such a great message, am truly moved.

  74. Very inspiring. Thank you

  75. Some of the most beautiful work I’ve seen anywhere.

  76. Reblogged this on Appleledge II and commented:
    Some beautiful photography I just found

  77. Pictures truly worth a thousand words

  78. I’m a sign language interpreter, I always believe/agree that hands can speak volumes…. just beautiful.

  79. You have inspired me. Lovely images. Thank you kindly.

  80. All of these are great!

  81. Absolutely Riveting

  82. Each photo tells its own story. I love them. You are simply the best, Mr. McCurry.

  83. Reblogged this on at2305 and commented:
    Inspire me!

  84. adventuresofamurse Says:

    Reblogged this on Adventures of a Murse and commented:
    Wow! such depth and honesty!

  85. adventuresofamurse Says:

    Such honesty and beauty in all those images!

  86. You are a genius but I think you know that. I just found your blog and thank you for sharing.

  87. Thumbs (and hands) up !

  88. I feel humbled by these. They are wonderful, thank you so much for sharing them.

  89. I would like this a 100 times if I could. Your post is absolutely AWESOME!!! After posting this comment I’m going to reblog this post. (My first reblog) (I wanted to ask whether you’ve taken most/some/all the photos or whether you’ve used other sources?)

  90. elkemurphy Says:

    Reblogged this on http://elkemurphy.wordpress.com
    and said:
    I wanted to share this with you: Beautiful, breathtaking photos and wonderful quotes – a wonderful blog by Steve McCurry.

  91. How exquisite. Thank you. I am profoundly moved.

  92. Wow! You take really good pictures that tell a thousand words. How I wish I can take pictures like you.

  93. This is such a beautiful blog post!! Totally touched…

  94. Reblogged this on ester1ren3 and commented:
    Amazing Pictures!

  95. elkemurphy Says:

    Reblogged this on elkemurphy and commented:
    I wanted to share this with you:
    Beautiful, breathtaking photos and wonderful quotes – a wonderful blog by Steve McCurry.

  96. Anonymous Says:

    So touching !!!

  97. superb, some fantastic, inspirational quotes and moving images, I was hoping for the Romeo & Juliet one to turn up! Thanks for sharing.

  98. Steve, I’ve never, EVER, enjoyed a blog post or any photography as much as I enjoyed yours. Sheer Beauty! Lovely!

  99. P.S. If you would like to convese with me about your experience with using photography as story and metaphor, I would love to talk with you.

  100. Steve your theme of hands is just superb! I have a wordpress site also livingthecreative.wordpress.com. A bunch of my photos, not to be compared with yours, are up there and my writing. But, I am doing a project on metaphor, which I consider photography to be part of and created a Facebook page for that. Maybe, you would like to put a few of your photos there? https://www.facebook.com/PowerofMetaphor Stunning Pictures

  101. A remarkable set, thank you for sharing

  102. Reblogged this on Featherblues53's Blog and commented:
    A beautiful gift for a day of love.

  103. Hands — beautiful post! Hands are one of the most difficult things to paint!!

  104. Reblogged this on DesArtsUK and commented:
    Super post!

  105. Wow! Made my cry…absolute cut rights right through to the heart thank you

  106. Awesome pictures. The lady with the green eyes (2nd or 3rd) was my favorite!

  107. absolutely beautiful… breathtaking!

  108. Reblogged this on Mod Postern and commented:
    Cool photo collection

  109. Reblogged this on aiva's school blog and commented:
    test

  110. Thank you .. This is Beautiful. :)

  111. I absolutely love those pictures of hands. And I do read the language of hands, the hope, the despair, the longing
    the . . . You’ve really nailed it with these pictures!

  112. This humbled me. Thank You :)

  113. Reblogged this on kid2kids and commented:
    So extraordinary. No need for words.

  114. Thank you for sharing – says a lot.

  115. Reblogged this on bornin95 and commented:
    Today was just one of those days.
    I felt so caught up with my cynical depressing thoughts, moaning and complaining about the things I don’t have, things I wish I had, things which I have but are never enough and so on.
    It was simply about anything and everything.
    Reading this made me realise how I focus too much on the negative and not so much on the positive.
    Sometimes I forget just how much simple things like my hands, legs, eyes and ears are worth.
    I forget about all the things I have that others can only ever wish for.
    I forget to take time to just appreciate all the good things in life.
    I guess you only really start noticing the value all these little things when you start to lose them.
    To spin this on a positive note, I’ll take on an advice from a friend. From now on, I shall not moan about the things I don’t have but realise that when I do get it, I will value it so much more. I will realise its importance and really learn to appreciate it because I know how it feels to not have it.

  116. Just love these beautiful photographs and the words you’ve chosen to accompany them. Inspiring.

  117. elkemurphy Says:

    Thank you, thank you for sharing these beautiful photos and touching words!

  118. Reblogged this on The Splendid Siren and commented:
    Gorgeous

  119. Reblogged this on smalltownjules and commented:
    Lovely. Beautiful. Please read.

  120. You are such an inspiration – if one day I take a photo that I think is ‘like a McCurry’ I will be a proud woman.

  121. maniqadir Says:

    Reblogged this on ManiQadir's Blog and commented:
    Such a BEAUTIFUL array of pictures, showing the great expressive power of our hands.
    Hands are usually overlooked by people in photography film making etc
    but they too are equally, if not more, expressive than the face !.

  122. Very love the moments all mirroring clearly into the deepest side

  123. loved how you focused on one part of the photo that people may over look at first. Beautiful!

  124. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!

  125. This is simply beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  126. I love that the gestures in these photos are so sincere and easy to interpret. Guess you have to travel far and wide to find a few pure souls who haven’t fallen into the altruistic hands culture we live in today.

  127. Wonderful!!! Great concept, and such inspiring pictures!

  128. Absolutely stunning. I’m obsessed and inspired.

    Xoxo
    Shauna Lynne

  129. Beautiful and poignant photos and captions! . . . Thank you for sharing!

    http://arabianmusings.wordpress.com/

  130. All I can say is, “Wow”, thank you so much for sharing this. It is so wonderful to be able to paint a reality in your mind based on one’s hands. This is truly a unique art. Keep it up and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  131. quite different concept..looks unique!!! :)

  132. Reblogged this on From the eyes of a field mouse. and commented:
    Amazingly beautiful!

  133. That moment when you realize that our mouth is not the only part of our body that can speak, and heart is not the only that can feel and bear

  134. Amazing
    The king who had never known defeat at the hands of his enemies had to …. his original name is Sikandar,the best part which i like in the history of … He came in this world with empty hands and going back with empty hands.

  135. Reblogged this on flipthinks and commented:
    My first reblog, a post that made me scroll and re-scroll, look and re-examine.

  136. They are stunning!!

  137. veri touchin..grt wrk..

  138. Reblogged this on Stories & Poems and commented:
    Beautiful heart touching collection of pictures and awesome accompanying lines.

  139. Beautiful heart touching collection of pictures and awesome accompanying lines. I will re-blogged this Awesome Article in my site.

  140. Reblogged this on Visual Pursuits and commented:
    Amazing compilation of photographs – thank you Steve McCurry

  141. Excellent post! Thank you for the beautiful pictures!

  142. beautiful heart touching collection of pictures and awesome accompanying lines.

  143. Amazing photos. Loved your post :-)

  144. SImply beautiful.

  145. Reblogged this on BOOKNUTCASE and commented:
    Wonderful! Simply beautiful people…

  146. Obat Herbal Kolesterol Says:

    Like all picture

  147. Reblogged this on MajesticMom and commented:
    Listen closely as those hands make the most silent language of all time.

  148. The fact that I scrolled, and kept scrolling, and scrolled some more… and made it all the way down here, is a testament to the sheer awesomeness of your images.

    They are immensely moving.

    I am looking at my own hands. Wondering: What could I do with my own, that would be as beautiful, loving, and compassionate as what you have shown us?

  149. Can’t choose between these pictures… Love all of them. A clever compilation and illustration of how hands can “talk”. Wonderful.

  150. Your photos are breathtaking. I love how you’ve centered them on HANDS.. one of the most expressive parts of our bodies, true mirrors of our soul… thnx for sharing your perspective. I look forward to many more inspiring visits to your blog!

  151. Anonymous Says:

    Thankyou

  152. Like most of what all other comments said, this was soul touching and lovely. I am a massage therapist, energy healer, and know the power of hands. I am also deaf, so was surprised to not see the power of hands in the language connection for deaf culture. ASL is truly the one language that can be universally taught and spoken by all countries. And, yet instead we spends millions of dollars on translations and bi-lingual advertisements, coupons done in bi-lingual, voter registration, etc. Foreign countries do not go to the expense of making sure Americans or visitors from other countries can read their language. And, yet we in America go out of our way to be sure all sectors have their own set of street signs. I find it insane. But, if all were taught to SIGN, we could all communicate in one universal way.

  153. Universal language of the world… great

  154. awesomely beautiful! thank you for sharing this. :)

  155. so many powerful images and words. wonderful.

  156. [...] post often but when he does – WOW!  His latest post, Silent Language of Hands (click here), moved me to tears.  It is beautiful and powerful and profound.  Take a look.  [...]

  157. Very touching. Soul stirring. Beyond words.

  158. Great stuff! So haapy to find you!

  159. I adore this collection and the accompanying lines you chose are so moving. Hands are always a fascination to me. and this is just beautiful. It’s incredible how just with one word “hands” you drew our attention so swiftly toward them in every photo. Isn’t attention magical? =)

  160. Reblogged this on Hand It.

  161. greenairpins Says:

    Amazing!! Love each and every photo and its story. :)

  162. Reblogged this on Backward Smiley Person and commented:
    An awesome post. The second picture (you may recognize the girl in the photograph) is my favorite.

  163. So beautiful and moving Steve. Loved it!

  164. Reblogged this on READ MY FINGERS and commented:
    The photos and words here are so moving I felt them worth sharing with you

  165. fromnothingtonursing Says:

    Amazing!!!

  166. Really cool. Such an amazingly spot on theme.

  167. This is awesome. As others have said, thank you for sharing it!

  168. You have showed us that, without a word, we are one world! Thank you.

  169. [...] Steve McCurry recently posted a group of photos titled Silent Language of Hands. If you have not viewed them yet, click here: http://stevemccurry.wordpress.com/2013/02/06/silent-language-of-hands/ [...]

  170. Lovely!!! So unique yet powerful. Loved the photos. Very beautiful.

  171. I have this inexplicable lure to hands… thank you so dearly much for these!

  172. As usual, your work is incredible. Keep it up!

  173. faizahazeem Says:

    Inspirational!

  174. woow,,
    so aweasome,,
    full emotion,,
    like this so much,,

  175. Awesome. Thank for sharing.

  176. I really admire Steve’s work not only visually appealing but also full of strong emotional content. My favorite image is the one from Florida’s jail there is so much going on in this frame, the guard on the back, the emotional priest and the bible on the floor and the desperate for redemption inmates hands ….just amazing!!!

  177. in kol yu Says:

    Steve! youre works made me emotionaly deep impact….. How much thank you I do not know(It is koren english^^)
    from inkol youre korean freind…

  178. Who knew so much would come out of something as simple as ‘hands’!
    Glad you featured Uganda this time :)

  179. Beautiful, touching and profound images. I was very moved by the one in the Florida jail. Many of the other pics were also powerful.

  180. Inspiring and touching images!

  181. Anonymous Says:

    excelenent work

  182. “Hands” from which all blessings come shared by individuals, their generosity creates warmth amongst the compassionate.

  183. Lesley Bookout Says:

    full of emotion; touched my heart

  184. Reblogged this on ginghamchick and commented:
    So as I ponder this wonderful work about hands, I think of the hands of our Creator and how He formed us out of the earth and made us in His own image…

  185. Thanks so much for showing us that a hand can hold or let go of so much! reblogged on ginghamchick

  186. Some of your photos give me chills…

  187. Anonymous Says:

    Excellent Work.

  188. [...] Another stunning and moving set of photos from Steve McCurry:  Silent Language of Hands. [...]

  189. Thank you. Such feeling in all of this work. Wonderful.

  190. Reblogged this on MECASOENSORIA and commented:
    Nada que añadir. Miren.

  191. A wonderful link to the soul and the spirit of viewers and the viewed thnk you…

  192. Wonderful!!

  193. Annachiara Says:

    Thank you so much!

  194. Marta Amezquita Says:

    The beauty of your images and poetic words will stay with me forever. God bless your perspective of the universal. Just one of your photographs can change a life. marta

  195. Awesome and very moving. Thank you so much for sharing your gift with us.

  196. Awesome, and very moving, thank you so much for the beauty you share with us.

  197. Reblogged this on shooting stuff and commented:
    If you’re not already following Steve McCurry’s blog then you really should if you’re a fan of his beautiful work.

  198. sharonhartnett Says:

    Photos were extraordinary….Loved the hands being a Massage Therapist. My hands are one of the main communicators for me in relationship. I am going to link this up to my blog. Just loved this and your perspective:) Sharon http://www.integrativesoulandbodywork.com

  199. Wow, I have always considered the eyes to be the most expressive. Now I see that I’ve underestimated the hands.

  200. Reblogged this on Breeches and Collars and commented:
    Steve McCurry – My inspirator, motivator and mentor. His pictures speaks to my heart and soul.

  201. Anonymous Says:

    Your photos enter directly in my soul. Thank’s

  202. Each picture is my favorite. I am always especially happy to see the jailhouse laying on of hands ( with guard so very much at attention in background, perfectly out of focus, Bible on ground so very much in focus); and to see Sharbat Gula again, at another moment in your encounter. The dirt and grime so indelibly etched into the hands of the bruised Afghani parent is unforgettable. But the delight of that Russian lady with her yellow blooms and smile looking just like one of these (^‿^) is too dear. Why sh/would I keep shooting when there is such fine work happening in the world. So very, very fine. Thank you for not stopping like I have.

    • John W M Christie Says:

      I have never seen so many pictures that bring tears of love, joy & sadness so quickly, in one spot. Your descriptions really nail my feelings & I can’t say it any better than you. Thank you for telling Steve in such a fine way, how much we all appreciate him.

  203. These photographs are so full of emotions… I’m speechless.

  204. I’ve been pondering what words to write here – they are all inadequate si I’ll just say that this is a post I’ll come back o and savour again and again.

  205. Awesome would be an understatement here..The thoughts that each of those snaps provoke is so profound that no word can express it.. Thanks for sharing..

  206. Reblogged this on my blog and commented:
    It is all in the hands…

  207. Beautiful, poignant and inspiring. The combination of photographs and well chosen words inescapably halting. Thank you.

  208. Amazing work…thank you for this gift .

  209. Wong Chun Fye Says:

    Amazing pictures! These pictures really bring out the emotions.

  210. Un maestro en toda la amplitud de la palabra, Gracias Steve McCurry

  211. Soul lifted. Thank you.

  212. Anonymous Says:

    Amazing work, beautifully captures essence of human nature

  213. Amazing work, beautifully captured essence of human nature

  214. Genevieve Joutard Says:

    Many thanks ‘from France…’ for your wonderful new post. A good lesson of life .

    Date: Wed, 6 Feb 2013 15:27:12 +0000 To: gejoutard@hotmail.com

  215. Thanks for the collection, it is beautiful!. Wouldn’t it be great to add hands expressing happiness, joy, delight, ecstasy, euphoria, and so many other human emotions that hands can so very well express?. Could we all add some of those?

  216. ….Congratulations…

  217. Every photo has so much feeling ! I look forward to everyone of your posts!

  218. Reblogged this on Gooseyanne's Blog and commented:
    Another magnificent photo-blog from Steve McCurry – take time to take a look and wonder …

  219. Very special sensation to see this pictures. Thank you Steve.

  220. Glenda Haigh Says:

    Hands! Wow what an extraordinary set of photographs – hands say so much!

  221. Reblogged this on Berbagi Tak Pernah Rugi and commented:
    Superb pictures by Steve McCurry

  222. advocacine Says:

    Great photos! Very poignant.Thanks for sharing… and the like.

  223. Reblogged this on panalyah's Blog and commented:
    When we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives means the most to us,
    we often find that it is those who, instead of giving advice, solutions,or cures,
    have chosen rather to share our pain
    and touch our wounds with a warm and tender hand.
    – Henri NouwenWhen we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives means the most to us,
    we often find that it is those who, instead of giving advice, solutions,or cures,
    have chosen rather to share our pain
    and touch our wounds with a warm and tender hand.
    – Henri Nouwen

  224. Thank you for so generously sharing your talent and work with us. ~ Kat

  225. As always, amazing and tender. Gracias, Z

  226. this touches my heart..

  227. Sound of silence!

  228. Simply beautiful. Thank you…

  229. Truly wonderful and touching . Thank you Steve for sharing your work and being an inspiration. -Steve daPonte

  230. Stunning shots as always! Your sets involving themes are so well thought out and powerful!

  231. Reblogged this on Living It Up in Ecuador and commented:
    A must reblog…they left me speechless..

  232. Very touching, beautiful photography that goes right to the heart.

  233. Your images have left me speechless… thank you for sharing your thoughts and photos

  234. Monica W. Says:

    Magnificent and astounding. This has touched my spirit.

  235. Reblogged this on Winters Photography Online and commented:
    Here is powerful, eloquent photography underscored with well chosen quotes. Steve McCurry is reliable.

  236. Deeply moving — thank you.

  237. Nancy Wilkinson Says:

    Thank you for this beautiful collection of images. Such eloquent photography. I love the title too

  238. Anna Maria Says:

    How much poverty full of dignity and love in these photos..!!! Touch the soul..!!! Magnificent..!!!

  239. Powerful images. :)

  240. Les Mains sont aussi expressives que le visage, les yeux, la bouche, la voix….Superbe Capture &Composition.

  241. Anonymous Says:

    Les mains sont aussi expressives que le visage, les yeux, les levres, la voix…superbe Capture & Composition.

  242. The pictures are always so poignant. They just reach out and touch deep inside the heart. Thanks for sharing your pictures and what you see through you eyes and lenses.

  243. Solange Valiquette Says:

    Outstanding images of beautiful humanity. Thank you.

  244. Great collage of photos and emotions, you have put together a collection of the rawest feelings ever felt(and surprised by the camera). Some photos transcribe so much the viewing is almost invasive. I know for a fact that some are quite old, I would love to know that all these people are now happy and safe. God only knows, I suppose.

  245. Anonymous Says:

    wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow

  246. wow! I feel like I wanna cry now…

  247. Ilsemarie Eggers Says:

    Wonderful and very touching, looking forward to your Exibition in Wolfsburg

  248. Dear Mr McCurry,
    this time I have no words…
    Hands…Shelters and shields of our hearts and souls…
    Thanks…

  249. This make me think of how many times had I express my gratitude and love to people around me. Pat their shoulder when they done well, shake their hands and said thank you, hold their hand when they are sad… Wonderful post, a reminder of so many things. It just the way the hands work that breach the barriers of languages and silent.

    Miss SS

  250. The most touching blog I ever went through.thnx for everything

  251. Gracias por compartir esas manos, que suplican, que protegen, que guían. y contienen. hablan por si mismas. Elsa G.

  252. One of my favourite parts of the human anatomy. Thanks, Steve.

  253. [...] Quelle che vedete sono alcune del reportage Silent Language of Hands, che pubblica sul suo blog. Le trovate qui. [...]

  254. Wonderful. Thank you.

  255. That is a lot to think about. The hands really do symbolize so much in our lives.

  256. Beautiful. It’s amazing how your photos stir up so much emotion.

  257. Awesome photos and quotes

  258. Thank you very much, Steve, for this new gift. Amazing pictures, I am really moved…

  259. Beautiful. Just the inspiration I needed to head out and shoot for a bit. Thanks! :)

  260. Soulful ! there is no other words to mention your photographs Sir ! Hats-Off !

  261. As tuas mãos tem grossas veias como cordas azuis
    sobre um fundo de manchas já cor de terra
    — como são belas as tuas mãos —
    pelo quanto lidaram, acariciaram ou fremiram
    na nobre cólera dos justos…
    Porque há nas tuas mãos, meu velho pai,
    essa beleza que se chama simplesmente vida.
    E, ao entardecer, quando elas repousam
    nos braços da tua cadeira predileta,
    uma luz parece vir de dentro delas…
    Virá dessa chama que pouco a pouco, longamente,
    vieste alimentando na terrível solidão do mundo,
    como quem junta uns gravetos e tenta acendê-los contra o vento?
    Ah, Como os fizeste arder, fulgir,
    com o milagre das tuas mãos.
    E é, ainda, a vida
    que transfigura das tuas mãos nodosas…
    essa chama de vida — que transcende a própria vida…
    e que os Anjos, um dia, chamarão de alma…
    (Mario Quintana)

  262. Amazing like always. Thank You.

  263. Marilee Pittman Says:

    You are a poet of photography. Amazing photos. The eyes say as much as the hands in these incredible photos.

  264. These are such powerful photographs.
    When I was in college in art, I took some independent studies with an illustrator on campus. Through studying anatomy, I learned how the hands work. They are the hardest to draw and reveal the most about what we are truly thinking..

  265. Incredable series! the hands are the international language don’t have to translate.

  266. Make my hand be a mirror of my soul.

  267. As always your pictures are profound and touching!
    Always my favorite photographer!

  268. It’s always an inspiration to see thru your eyes…
    Amazing photos, as usual.

  269. hanazair Says:

    Thank you!!! Absolutely amazing as always!

    You always give such a broad picture of the world, helping to remember that there are people there who have much more to worry about than our First-World-Problems such as which car to buy and whether or not to buy one more TV….. Sad but true… I think it is important to be aware of other people and the reality of the world, so we can do something about it.

    Maria Arefieva

  270. Great images from a legendary photographer.

  271. So beautiful and moving. Thank you, Steve, as always. You’re an inspiration!

  272. They are simply fantastic.

  273. Simply, thank you.

  274. Meravigliosamente bellissime!!! un linguaggio silenzioso ma che riesce a comunicare più di mille parole dette….. bavo al fotografo che ci regala queste cose stupende!!

  275. Anonymous Says:

    congratulations because your photography are very very nice ! Good work !

  276. Oh, such life…and so many stories in your images….

  277. I go silent over and over again with your philosophy and your revelation you try to teach us in the most honest way. Remembering a quote from Romeo Juliet, ‘…for saints have hands that pilgrims’ hands do touch, And palm to palm is holy palmers’ kiss’ .

  278. Beautiful images, beautiful compilation, thanks for posting… :)

  279. Connie Jensen Says:

    Absolutely brilliant work, you have this way of zeroing in on a subject And portraying it movingly and with great sensitivity, not intruding but observing…thank you

    _______________________________ Sent through space from a Droid 2

  280. Wonderful. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and images.

  281. Awesome photographs! I like all of them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,318 other followers

