When Things Come Alive

Night
when words fade and things come alive.
When the destructive analysis of day is done, and
all that is truly important becomes whole and sound again.
When man reassembles his fragmentary self and grows with the calm of a tree.
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

00081_15, New York, New York, USA, USA-10032NFOverlooking Washington Square Park, New York, United States

 

BRAZIL-10049Brazil

I often think that the night is more alive and more richly colored than the day.
- Vincent Van Gogh

USA-10164_newLos Angeles, United States

ITALY-10450NF3Umbria, Italy

And the night shall be filled with music,
And the cares, that infest the day,
Shall fold their tents
and silently steal away
- Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

CAMBODIA-10489Cambodia

FIJI-10011NF2Fiji

TIBET-10412Tibet

CHINA-10026_newHong Kong

The man who has seen the rising moon break out of the clouds
at midnight has been present like an archangel at the
creation of light and of the world
- Ralph Waldo Emerson

CHINA-10171Hong Kong

USA-10086New York, United States

INDIA-10237NF3Mumbai, India

Most glorious night!
Thou wert not sent for slumber!
- Lord Byron

01052_ 023India

To me at least was never evening yet
But seemed far beautifuller than its day.
- Robert Browning, The Ring and the Book

INDIA-10605Rambagh Palace Hotel, Jaipur, India

INDIA-10312NF, Taj Mahal, Agra, India, 1996,Agra, India

Day, like a weary pilgrim, had reached the western gate of heaven, and
Evening stooped down to unloose the latchets of his sandal shoon.
- Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

USA-10294Grand Central Terminal, New York, United States

What hath night to do with sleep?
-  John Milton, Paradise Lost

JAPAN-10134Japan

Learn to reverence night and to put away the vulgar fear of it,
for, with the banishment of night from the experience of man,
there vanishes as well a religious emotion,
a poetic mood, which gives depth to the adventure of humanity.
- Henry Beston

INDIA-12125India

BURMA-10624Burma

MALI-10033Mali

ITALY-10018NF5, Camino, Italy, 09/2004 final print_MACROItaly

The night walked down the sky with the moon in her hand.
- Frederick L. Knowles

YUGOSLAVIA-10060Slovenia


Some praise the Lord for Light,
The living spark;
I thank God for the Night
The healing dark.
- Robert W. Service

http://publishingperspectives.com/2013/03/yes-even-the-smallest-publisher-can-change-the-world/

104 Responses to “When Things Come Alive”

  1. I have been following and love your posts, but this one touched me more than usual. I had to share. Re-Blogged on inknpetals.wordpress.com. Thank you

  2. Steve, it is difficult to describe what makes me keep coming back to your photographs again and again and again. I consider you as one of the few masters whose work makes me continue taking pictures whenever I have not liked my own work. Thank you for inspiring me.

  3. […] de sus imágenes, como si nuestros ojos no se hubieran abierto nunca. Steve McCurry sin más, When Things Come Alive. […]

  4. Amazing variety of real quality pictures, Steve!

  5. […] McCurry’s blog is always worth a look. This page is full of things that happen at night. I love the night. Don’t […]

  6. simply magnificent …

  7. Lesley Bookout Says:

    Again, your combination of pictures and words spoke to me. Awe-inspiring!

  8. Sasha Carvajal Says:

    Just beautiful. You have made night my favorite part of the day. Great shots.

  9. elizabethweaver Says:

    Gorgeous shots and lovely theme. I especially love Brazil through Fiji, India and Grand Central in NY. I love your work and that you’ve had the opportunity to create a global perspective in your presentations. Thank you.

  10. Reblogged this on Oyia Brown.

  11. Yeah, the photos reallly got a life, I like this style a lot!

  12. dear Lord… awesome!!!

  13. Fantastic images and I wonder how many more does he have that are shot in those days.

  14. […] Noaptea e timpul când lucrurile prind viață. Ne-o dovedește încă odată Steve McCurry cu această serie excepțională de fotografii nocturne. […]

  15. This is extraordinary! Never seen anything like it. Fell in love with so many pictures, and since I already dream about T. Mahal, I loved that especially much. Also the church and the photos where you both have people moving and a steady background. How is that even possible?

  16. A theme that offers an endless array of beautiful subjects. Magical set, Steve! Thank you.

  17. Aninda Sarkar Says:

    R u GOD????
    U r fab PHOTOGRAPHER… what can I say…

  18. Wow, wow and wow!! These are just fantastic photographs. Some look like paintings. All have mystery. They should be published or shown in a gallery!! Maybe already are. And the quotes are great. You do fabulouse work.

  19. rahulwebzone Says:

    brilliant…night captured in its finest form..

  20. Amazing images of life.

  21. very captive images indeed, so full of life and so full of stories, thanks for sharing! K

  22. Fantástica fotografía, me gusta como trabajas y aprovechas la luz, saludos

  23. Rajiv Budhraja Says:

    I thought Steve could tell a great story with his photos of the war. This essay re-affirms that Steve is as sensitive to the stillness of night as to the roar of the battlefields. Great pics, as always. Never let your camera rest!

  24. Superb camera art. You paint better with your camera than most people can with a brush. Your art is exciting, interesting, & a pleasure to enjoy. Thanks for sharing!

  25. Night is truly the most beautiful time of life, in my opinion.

  26. So, so, so beautiful. I adore that poem at the beginning.

  27. One of the best Blog Post I have seen as of now!!!

  28. Beautiful.

  29. Anonymous Says:

    fabulous, congrats

  30. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks for sharing, you have a great eye for beautiful scenes and light.

  31. Love love love this collection.

  32. sunita pathak Says:

    Very very (de) lightful & alluring side of night. As usual wonderful photowork
    showing unknown side of the world by S. Macurry…..

  33. O.M.G.! You’ve done it again – delicious! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

  34. I would like to take a walk with you.

  35. zouland Says:

    Beautiful, as always !

  36. pwlkdzr Says:

    I thank God for Steve McCurry

  37. Impressive images

  38. Reblogged this on Steven Evens and commented:
    Some of the most beautiful photos I’ve ever seen, and a great theme to tie them together.

  39. AMAZING PHOTOS!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  40. […] Steve McCurry’s Blog: When Things Come Alive […]

  41. Your photo essays are so rich, so full of detail and color and life. Thank you for putting them together with the quotes that speak so clearly to the soul.

  42. Reblogged this on Oxford School of Photography and commented:
    as only Steve can

  43. Stunning photos, can’t wait for the next installment.

  44. You are the master of your art yet when I look at your work I do not feel intimidated but inspired.

  45. Anonymous Says:

    Awesome inspiration, here Thanks Steve

  46. Blown away……beautifully captured, what an amazing world we live in! Such incredible diversity and besuty. I bow to you

  47. Van Dongen Lucie Says:

    Des photos de toute beauté comme à chaque fois, un éternel plaisir pour les yeux.
    Rarement rencontré un tel talent! Congratulations!

  48. Very good! Thank you..

  49. La foto de Camboya me parece de lo mejor de Steve, que ya es decir.

  50. I love them all. Where was the Japan photo taken? I’d love to walk down that street some time.

  51. These emotions I felt, that’s what photography is supposed to give. And your pictures are able to shake my soul every single time. Thank you for making me travel around the world with my eyes and heart.

  52. Sometimes we need a reminder that the world is awesome. Thanks for the reminder

  53. jyothi rajeev Says:

    awesome

  54. jyothi rajeev Says:

    awesome..

  55. Anthony Says:

    Beautiful images Steve – you’ve just taken me on a worldwide trip in 60 minutes. Your work is truly inspirational. Thank you for picking up a camera.

  56. Incredible photos, as usual! What wonder, awe, and thankfulness must fall upon Steve McCurry’s mind, heart and soul as he experiences people and places of the world in a way that most of us can’t even imagine.

  57. Fantastic, as always! (。◕‿◕。)

  58. saroj chopra Says:

    Amazingly beautiful.

  59. Annette Cruger Photographic Editor Says:

    simply the best… as always…

  60. Reblogged this on … S O J O U R N … and commented:
    This time, Steve McCurry opens up doors to night life all around the world, or at least as much as he has travelled for the last 30+ years!

    Happy Reading.

  61. Amitabha Dasgupta Says:

    Excelent photography

  62. You honor night in such a beautiful way. Thank you for these wonderful pictures.

  63. errantclickings Says:

    Ah, the textures and depth. Once again, Steve, your work is so inspirational and evocative. Every frame teaches me something. It is fun to see some of your newer work and see how you are exploring. Thank you for sharing it.

  64. Love them all <3

  65. IMpressive work Steve..Congrats..

  66. Michael Lai Says:

    I enjoy the the beauty of pictures and poetry you combined them together.

  67. Thank you. I enjoy your photos so much.

  68. cal geyman Says:

    thank you for sharing; it is a teaching moment to see what can be done by simply observing and capturing when the stars align and the human emotion is transcendent.

  69. Reblogged this on Neverending1's Blog and commented:
    More stunning photos from Steve McCurry. Enjoy!

  70. Thanks for the photos of New York. It’s been a long time since I’ve been in New York. Washington Square looks different. It’s so much cleaner. It used to be a place for druggies, and hippies. And Grand Central, I spent a lot of time there. I passed through it on my way to and from work every day. Thanks for the memories. Beautiful pictures.

  71. The many faces of night. Fun.

  72. Thank you for these awesome photographs.
    Ranu

  73. Simply Amazing…..

  74. So many wonderful sights in the dark. The boat in Burma is magical!

  75. That final image from Slovenia is like stepping into a fairy tale!

    • Anonymous Says:

      I’m from Slovenia and I have to say this is one of my favorite places…the church in Jamnik in the north-west of Slovenia. It really is like stepping into a fairytale; any time of the day :)

  76. These images are breath taking!

  77. Wonderful, as always.

  78. Inspiring images.

  79. Man, how do you even think to take such awesome pictures…. that boy in Cambodia is pic is just out of this world. Loved the Rolls :)

  80. gorgeous photographs.

  81. Beautiful photographs and the words with them are well picked for the theme.. I followed the link to Publishing Perspectives. It seems to have a good mission in getting books into the hands of those who don’t have them and for having those books in their native language. I would love to know more but could not find it. Any more information about them?

  82. Reblogged this on Rasmines Photography and commented:
    Nice picture! ;)

  83. I love them all..but that last one….stellar.

  84. Awesomeness….yet again :-)

  85. incredibly beautiful – such clarity and light

  86. Maria Bishop Says:

    I love your work and I love to share it with my friends at Google plus. Can I do that?

    Thank you,

    Cleo

  87. AMAZINGLY stunning snaps! i was struck with awe…what ideas and beautiful pictures!

  88. very good!

  89. Golda Kocubej Soriano Says:

    When I see your pictures from places that I have visited I think that I must have been to other place. Thank you to improve my look.

  90. Chrissy Says:

    Impressing photos!!! Thank you :-)

  91. I don’t know which is the one I like the most. The thema is simple, universal, and infinite. Your captures let me wordless.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25,789 other followers

