Sentinels and Sanctuaries

CAMBODIA-10290Angkor Wat Temple Complex, Cambodia

Trees are Sentinels
Guarding, Nurturing, Protecting
Bastions of Dignity

Breathing life
Providing shelter
Asking for nothing
Sacrificing everything
– K. Earle

_SM11420, Chiang-Mai, Thailand, 2011, THAILAND-10087Chiang Mai, Thailand

INDIA-10710Darjeeling, India

Trees are sanctuaries.
Whoever knows how to speak to them,
whoever knows how to listen to them, can learn the truth.
They do not preach learning and precepts,
they preach undeterred by particulars, the ancient law of life.
– Hermann Hesse, Wandering

CAMBODIA-10032 (1)Caretaker at Ta Prohm temple, Angkor, Cambodia

For me, trees have always been the most penetrating preachers.
Nothing is holier, nothing is more exemplary than a beautiful, strong tree. 
- H. Hesse, ibid

FRANCE-10126Paris, France

If you would know strength and patience,
welcome the company of trees.  
- Hal Borland

ETHIOPIA-10048NFEthiopia

ITALY-10486, Camino, Italy, 2004. A woman hikes through a forest.Italy

It is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a
claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something,
that quality of air that emanation from old trees,
that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit.
-  Robert Louis Stevenson

KASHMIR-10055Kashmir

I hear the wind among the trees
Playing the celestial symphonies;
I see the branches downward bent,
Like keys of some great instrument.
- Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

CAMBODIA-10211Cambodia


ETHIOPIA-10143Ethiopia

I never saw a discontented tree.
They grip the ground as though they liked it, and
though fast rooted they travel about as far as we do.
They go wandering forth in all directions with every wind,
going and coming like ourselves,
traveling with us around the
sun two million miles a day,
and through space heaven knows how
fast and far!
-  John Muir

MOROCCO-10072Morocco

THAILAND-10008NFAyutthaya, Thailand

AFRICA-10237The Sahel, Africa

Planting trees early in spring,
we make a place for birds to sing in time to come.
How do we know? They are singing here now.
There is no other guarantee that singing will ever be.
- Wendell Berry

00547_09. Monsoons, Nepal, 1983, 08/1983. A young boy works on a mountainside.Nepal

No wonder the hills and groves were God’s first temples…
- John Muir

ITALY-10020Italy

INDIA-10855Agra, India

KOREA-10010South Korea

Trees, proud standing people
stretching fingertips to the sky, reaching, praying
glorious attention, breathing light.
strength
shelter
timeless confidence
bending and firm
comforting …
-  Wallace Stevens  

THAILAND-10034Thailand


Current Gallery Exhibitions

Peter Fetterman Gallery in Santa Monica, California
Cavalier Gallery, Nantucket, Massachusetts
Fifty One Fine Art Photography in Antwerp, Belgium

 Current Museum Exhibitions
 Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Germany
Santa Maria della Scala Siena, Italy

96 Responses to “Sentinels and Sanctuaries”

  1. Esstelle Says:

    Also one of my favorite, beloved companions around my home and on my walks. Thank you.

  2. Absolutely wonderful! Your photos are always stunning… love the quotes and words too!

  3. that elephant photo is simply stunning. great work.

  4. And who would not love the majesty of a TREE! I can’t pick one photo as a favorite over the next one. You are a splendid talent for seeing and then REALLY SEEING through your camera lens.

    I wish you continued success — and hope you will continue to share your talent too!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    speechless and first class pics. Hope no problems with sharing some of them with friends!

  6. AMAL BARA Says:

    Outstanding!!! You just made us in Love with life again!!! Thank you so much!

  7. Simply Beautiful in all respects!!

  8. I made a card for my father with one of your pictures – 2 people walking on a snowy trail in the woods – as he and I did for years. He passed away suddenly 10 days later. Having recently learned you are from Philadelphia while walking through Fairmount Park on a snowy day this past winter I swore I saw the scene you had photographed. Not so? Just wondering. It would be an eery coincidence. I am a Philly ER nurse who travels with Operation Smile once every year or so. I would love next time you are in your hometown if we could meet. An Operation Smile site – located worldwide – might be something you would enjoy and no one could capture the raw humanity better than you. And again I say – your site, the beautiful fitting quotes – is breathtaking. Thank you.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    THESE ARE SOME PICTURES I FEEL AT HOME WITH. THANKS MITTAL SIR

  10. Once again your photographs are amazing. Thank you Steve.
    Ranu

  11. Hi there. May I know where is that beautiful place at Chiang Mai?

    Thanks, Guy

  12. augustine yo Says:

    Amazing,thanks for sharing You give me motivation to keep learning how to photograph

  13. saurav khandelwal Says:

    I loved it….May I know the Camera you have used to capture these images.

    Thank you Sir!

  14. Reblogged this on It's Crow Time and commented:
    a magical and inspiring post by Steve McCurry

  15. Younes (Khalid),   I thank our Allah/God for allowing me to meet and know the very unique Morrocan kid (now man) that you are!   I thank you for staying in touch!

    Check out the beautiful pictures and words by Steve. We have to protect the trees, the earth (just as unique and sacred as we are) for future generations !!! !

    amities, normand stevemccurry posted: “Angkor Wat Temple Complex, Cambodia Trees are Sentinels Guarding, Nurturing, Protecting Bastions of Dignity Breathing life Providing shelter Asking for nothing Sacrificing everything – K. Earle Chiang Mai, Thailand Darjeeling, India Trees”

  16. Just amazing as usually.. thanks!

  17. There are no words worthy of such beauty – what pleasure it has given me.

  18. Reblogged this on Between the Weeds and commented:
    If you have a reverence for trees as I do then you have to read and look through this remarkable post by Steve McCurry. Love it.

  19. Extraordinary. Trees of life.

  20. Really nice pictures !
    Bravo !

  21. Younes (Khalid),   I thank our Allah/God for allowing me to meet and know the very unique Morrocan kid (now man) that you are!   I thank you for staying in touch!

    Check out the beautiful pictures and words by Steve. We have to protect the trees, the earth (just as unique and sacred as we are) for future generations !!! !

    amities, normand

    stevemccurry posted: “Angkor Wat Temple Complex, Cambodia Trees are Sentinels Guarding, Nurturing, Protecting Bastions of Dignity Breathing life Providing shelter Asking for nothing Sacrificing everything – K. Earle Chiang Mai, Thailand Darjeeling, India Trees”

  22. Great photos!!!!

  23. We love your photos..we love the way you communicate.
    Thank you for the beautiful feelings!

    (this is a little post about your exphosition in Italy last year: http://culturefor.com/2013/02/11/steve-mccurry-genova/)

  24. Excellent collection of the pictures..

  25. Reblogged this on INTO THE BARDO, A BLOGAZINE and commented:
    The inspired and inspiring photographs of National Geographic photographer, Steve McCurry. Enjoy and have a wonderful weekend.

  26. pics like silent poems or beautiful holy songs in a church open to the wind sun and stars

  27. Great selection of images. Absolutely meaningful.

  28. The wizened French women gossiping beneath the equally-twisted tree continues to be my favorite McCurry people image. Go, Steve, Go!!

  29. Robert Bates Says:

    Images are beautiful, compelling, and simply fantastic. Your journey throughout the world with a camera brings to those who view your pictures an understanding of diversity in all its manifestations. Every time I view your blog, I find myself fully immersed and wanting to see more. Thank you for doing what you do.

  30. I absolutely love the picture of the person in the tree huddled by a fire…

  31. I always think why your pictures are so stunning! And still don’t know why but they are simply taking my breath away!!

    http://www.strippedpixel.com/blog

  32. Anonymous Says:

    Soul’s photos, thanks

  33. They are just simply stunning. Thats y steve mccurry is my idol…. hats off sir…. fantabulous. .

  34. Galiano Lombardi Says:

    Questo link è veramente terapeutico per lo spirito. Grazie tante . ^_^

  35. Sutanu Chakrabarti Says:

    Simply superb

  36. lauracehache Says:

    Reblogueó esto en Laura cehachey comentado:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  37. Anonymous Says:

    so Amazing Steve ..

  38. They’re like works of art.. find them incredibly moving ….a spur to keep moving and seeing the beauty in the world. Thanks again for sharing : ) Trees

  39. I admire your work, It’s touching and emotional. I envy you your possibilities and opportunities and I wish that some day I can be able to do better. Meanwhile I am inspired by your photography and shall use it to the best of my simple ability.
    All the best.

  40. Anonymous Says:

    I admire your work, It’s touching and emotional. I envy you your possibilities and opportunities and I wish that some day I can be able to do better. Meanwhile I am inspired by your photography and shall use it to the best of my simple ability.
    All the best. Ivar Dahl Larsen, Norway.

  41. All the photographs transmit a feeling to me…
    Brilliant, as always!

  42. Reblogged this on Caixa Negra and commented:
    Já nao há muitas palavras para qualificar o poder de comunicação das imagens de Steve McCurry.

    É o maior fotografo da actualidade e está tudo dito.

  43. wonderful as always Steve :) <3

  44. Beautiful pictures with sence of real life and big soul, thank you very much!

  45. Beautiful beautiful photos! You are such an inspiration!

  46. Every picture brings back faith in the beauty of nature and a new found respect for trees. Thanks…

  47. Marko Puljic Says:

    You are really Master of photography Steve. Today, when everyone is photographer, you are showing us that every photograph can have story behind it, and touch observer on emotional level.

  48. Kathleen Says:

    Once again, I am in awe, not only of your artistry, but your devotion to it. Thank you. I’m declaring you a National Treasure.

  49. I love capturing trees and I am sure many other photographers do too.. But this is at a completely differently level. We are very lucky to have you Steve. Thank you for the wonderful work!

  50. As a photographer myself, I love capturing trees because they are the most majestic and beautiful things nature created. The way you have captured them is extraordinary. Each photo has been captured brilliantly. Just amazed how human presence amplifies the qualities of trees. Just great work. We are very lucky to have you Steve!

  51. Anonymous Says:

    Thank you Steve, each picture is a great emotion…simply fantastic !!!

  52. Wonderful! Thank you!

  53. ….long time ago, for many years , in every colors there’s the light, human has lived to close the street’s shadows where were their home and love. Through to life, the strees are our grean happy, yellow hopefully and red love… to my mind!

    Thank you photographer Steve McCurry…. always wonderful images of love and love is giving beautiful life! ♥♥

  54. Md. Muminul Islam Says:

    Brother, this is first time I have seen this blog, I like it very much because I like nature. I also want to do nature photography.

  55. SALU SULAIMAN Says:

    a Text Book

  56. Reblogged this on Sapna's Blog and commented:
    Trees are Sentinels
    Guarding, Nurturing, Protecting
    Bastions of Dignity
    Breathing life
    Providing shelter
    Asking for nothing
    Sacrificing everything
    – K. Earle

  57. Words fail me everytime I look at your photos. And this one especially is heavenly. Great theme and equally amazing photos to go with it. Oh I want to escape to some forest right away….
    Thank you for this post.

    Reblogging this

  58. Dit is op aandeketting herblogden reageerde:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  59. Andrea Aldrigo Says:

    bellissimo !

  60. I love you

  61. Ainun Anin Says:

    I love this blog, fantastic job. Thank you.

  62. scottmathe Says:

    Thanks Steve!

  63. : You just made me wanna hug a tree! ¡Que inspiración! ¡Gracias!

  64. Bernardette Stuven Says:

    Love your work

  65. Absolutely beautiful!

  66. I never tire of your photos. They seem to have Soul and reach right out to every viewer in some way or other. Your photographer’s eye sees and portrays what we amateurs can only dream about.

  67. I love this blog, fantastic job. Thank you.

  68. I don’t just see these, I breathe them in. Thank you.

  69. Thank you for being one of the few who have the rare opportunity, drive and tenacity to document these amazing places. I admire your work and can only hope I too will have the same opportunities. You are an inspiration.

  70. Some of these so beautiful, the images stay with you. The little girl clutching an armful of trees, and the little boy, joyfully planting. Thanks for sharing your world, Steve.

  71. Wonderful thank you!

  72. What more could on ask for.Poetry and poetic pictures.Bless you!

  73. Anonymous Says:

    magnifico amigo

  74. Thank you . Trees seem to be some of our oldest and most trusted friends!

  75. Trees are Sentinels
    Guarding, Nurturing, Protecting
    Bastions of Dignity
    Breathing life
    Providing shelter
    Asking for nothing
    Sacrificing everything

    Thanks.

  76. Reblogga detta på i Ord och Bild and commented:
    Beautiful and wonderful and marvelous!

  77. Lis Steeden Says:

    As always an absolute delight to they eyes…must admit I do love the three ladies having an all absorbing conversation on some bench somewhere in belle Pariii… :)

    • This picture is an excellent conversation piece. The lady in the middle is not wearing sensible shoes so her feet must be hurting.

  78. Reblogged this on PGS – The Way and commented:
    Once again Steve McCurry leaves me humbled…

  79. Reblogueó esto en LeoAr Photography / Lex Ariasy comentado:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  80. Absolutely beautiful. A moving theme accompanied by your stunning images. Thank you, Steve.

  81. Anonymous Says:

    I like it !
    Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,555 other followers

