Threshold of the New

INDIA-10742NF Maqbool Fida Husain, in his studio
Mumbai, India

Stronger by weakness, wiser men become
As they draw near to their eternal home.
Leaving the old, both worlds at once they view
That stand upon the threshold of the new.
- Edmund Waller

TURKEY-10213Turkey

USA-10797United States

The longer I live the more beautiful life becomes. 
- Frank Lloyd Wright

00406_04, 05/2001, TibetTibet

To me, old age is always fifteen years older than I am.
– Francis Bacon

ETHIOPIA-10285Member of the Suri tribe, Ethiopia

RUSSIA-10069Russia

As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say.
I just watch what they do.
Andrew Carnegie

_SM18476_adj, Cuba, 2010, LATIN_AMERICA-10145Cuba

BRAZIL-10030NF2, Lavazza, Brazil, 08/2010,Brazil

BURMA-10705Burma

Old age, believe me, is a good and pleasant thing.
It is true you are gently shouldered off the stage,
but then you are given such a comfortable front stall as spectator.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

CAMBODIA-10116Cambodia

PARAGUAY-10002Paraguay

Old age hath yet his honour and his toil.
- Alfred Lord Tennyson

SRILANKA-10086, Sri Lanka, 10/1995Sri Lanka

BURMA-10555Burma

ITALY-10540Italy

None are so old as those who have outlived enthusiasm.
- Henry David Thoreau

MOROCCO-10032Morocco

NEPAL-10027Nepal

Youth is the gift of nature, but age is a work of art.
- Garson Kanin 

AFGHN-10229Afghanistan

The years teach much which the days never knew.
- Ralph Waldo Emerson

100 Responses to “Threshold of the New”

  1. Barbara Jeromin Says:

    the pictures seem to be alive. What an eye to see inside the person. I see that you are painting with your eyes and heart.
    Thank you so much! I am always looking at them, copied a few, they greet me when I come home.

  2. DILIP KUMAR Says:

    lively portraits

  3. kaushal Says:

    sir we love ur work

  4. BEAUTIFUL…GREAT…IMAGES……SINCERELY ANDREA:))

  5. Petra Collins Says:

    Beautiful.

  6. andrea Says:

    Really wonderful photos! You have captured the beauty of aging. Beautiful quotes.

  7. Esstelle Says:

    What beautiful faces. Age has written a story on them. Thank you.

  8. Thank you so much……..this needs to be given to every son or daughter that wants to place a parent in a nursing home because it’s just to inconvenient. not to.
    We are just a generation away from extinction

  9. Stive , EL ANGEL DE LAS FOTOS

  10. A true and deep trip in the soul, mood and spirit…good music made the view even way more lovely, if possible :)
    Have a nice day everyone!

  11. This was a very nice post. My first visit to your blog and I already love it.

  12. Extraordinary! I especially like last one – the look in the Afghan old man eyes… so many stories to tell…

  13. as usual, great pictures

  14. Manish Dattani Says:

    महोदय श्री . Stevemcurry प्रणाम,
    आप के जेसा फोटोग्राफेर दुनिया मे दुबारा नही जन्म लेगा, आप की खीची हुवी हर एक तसवीर अपने आप एक कहानी पेश करदेती हे, एक ख्वाइश है जब इंडिया आओ आप से मिलना है, आप की खीची तसवीर से बहूत कुछ सीखने को मिलता है जो एक बड़े फोटोग्रफी वर्कशॉप मे नही मिलता, अंत मे इतना कहेना हे, आप की खीची हुवी हर तस्वीर एक गुरुद्रोनाचर्या है, अगर सीखानेवाला एकलव्य हे ,

  15. Reblogged this on Dino Duarte and commented:
    Stronger by weakness, wiser men become
    As they draw near to their eternal home.
    Leaving the old, both worlds at once they view
    That stand upon the threshold of the new.
    – Edmund Waller

  16. arman haron Says:

    your photography masterpieces … the captions so appropriate … declares a poignant reminder of the passing of time for each and every human no matter where they be…

  17. Dear Mr. Steve Mccurry, I am a great fan of yours and while I am just a casual photographer with negligible experience, I regularly visit your blog and website and get inspiration from your work. This is the first time I am writing to you through this blog and I just wanted to say Thank you.

  18. You just never let us down! I love this theme approach!

  19. Thank you Steve…..

  20. Anonymous Says:

    As the usual, beautiful pics!!!

  21. Dieu, que ces photos sont belles!! Comme celles des thèmes précédents. Humain et le plus souvent positif.
    Avez-vous édité un livre d ces illustrations?

  22. Wonderful collection of photos. I especially like the first and the last – it’s all in the eyes. Powerful.

  23. Very nice work Steve
    Great human interest photos, with excellent clarity and purpose.
    And a timeless theme.
    Chris Taylor
    cruisenomad.com

  24. Ciao Steven,
    every picture tells a story, every imagine is a small, large world.
    Thanks for the emotions and sentations they are able to comunicate.
    Alberto (Bologna, northern Italy), photographer

  25. hypercryptical Says:

    Beautiful.
    Anna :o]

  26. always your pictures found me fantastic

  27. Reblogged this on Neverending1's Blog and commented:
    Just enjoy the beautiful photos.

  28. Belo trabalho!
    É exatamente o tipo de fotografia que eu venho estudando e trabalhando.
    Parabens Mccurry! Seu trabalho é uma inspiração para mim.
    Abraços,
    Anderson Teles

  29. That Thoreau quote hit me like a ton of bricks. It really seems to get to the heart of some of the things we think about age and youth. I love the photo of the man from Afghanistan holding the rifle. His eyes…

  30. Beautiful portraits. Especially poignant for me, as I just said the final farewell to my 84-year-old father. To the end a lover of life.

  31. Wonderful photos and sentiments reflecting upon our “sunset years”!

  32. […] 맥커리가 이번에 블로그에 작업 공개하면서 인용한 시. 그의 취향을 엿볼 수 있는 발췌다. “Stronger by weak­ness, […]

  33. Taniia Ferreira Says:

    There is no need to be afraid of getting old. It means we have lived more than others and maybe loved more than others!
    Gorgeous as always! Such a great inspiration for me, Steve!

  34. Franco Mazza Says:

    Grazie.

  35. I love the images Steve. Each image has a story to tell. Your vision for creating story telling portraits is unique.

  36. […] Maqbool Fida Husain, in his studio Mumbai, India Stronger by weakness, wiser men become As they draw near to their eternal home. Leaving the old, both worlds at once they view That stand upon the …  […]

  37. Wonderful thank you!

  38. HERMOSAS FOTOGRAFIAS.COMO SIEMPRE LO HACE ESTE EXCELENTE FOTOGRAFO.

  39. william magtibay Says:

    outstanding and inspiring !

  40. Anonymous Says:

    Wonderful, I love it so much!

    • Ana maria teresa de Hollanda cavalcanti Says:

      As I am an old lady, I was particularly touched by those beautiful photos and quotes!! Thank you very much!

  41. Wonderful quotes with photos — Enjoyed — barbara

  42. Glad to see your threshold endures at the cusp of the new. Wonderful work.

  43. avatarinstructordesintesis Says:

    Reblogueó esto en ciencia y conciencia universal + cosmica cd 2014.

  44. Abhi vaishnav Says:

    outstanding….

  45. As always amazing series of images. Every single one is beautiful!
    You Captured M F Hussain in his element; one of the best images of his the I have seen.

  46. You are so awesome man!!! :-)

  47. Reblogged this on Wonder and Beauty and commented:
    I just always have to reblog Steve McCurry’s posts. His photos and quotes are always so beautiful. I suggest going to his original site to truly appreciate them.

  48. Amazing photographs that capture the soul of the subjects … always with empathy … always with compassion…. and always with love. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to feel blessed by life.

  49. Reblogged this on Street, Life, Frames – Amartya Bhadra and commented:
    My personal favourite and one of the best weblog.

  50. Lydia Kulesov Says:

    Dear Steve,

    I am not sure that my comment was posted on your blog so am commenting here as well.

    Your work captures the human soul with such compassion and sensitivity it brings tears to my eyes. Not many still photographs can do this. This is an exquisite body of work. I am especially moved by the Morocco piece with the younger man leading the old one by the small boat by the large ship. A beautiful metaphor for the jouney of life. I also am moved by the Shri Lanka images of the old woman walking away toward a church throuh a cemeteryanother powerful story of end of life. And the other one I love is the woman from Nepalyou have captured the essence of her whole life in that one moment. I am in awe…

    I assume offer these as prints. I am interested in the Morocco piece.

    Best regards,

    Lydia Kulesov

    Sent from my iPad

  51. … beautiful photos!
    But the only thing is happiness to that old age is not alone… one couple be together!.. I wish.!

  52. Wonderful photo! My favourite it’s Marocco

  53. Your work captures the human soul with such compassion and sensitivity it brings tears to my eyes. Not many still photographs can do this. This is an exquisite body of work. I am especially moved by the Morocco piece with the younger man leading the old one by the small boat by the large ship. A beautiful metaphor for the jouney of life. I also am moved by the Shri Lanka images of the old woman walking away toward a church throuh a cemetery–another powerful story of end of life. And the other one I love is the woman from Nepal–you have captured the essence of her whole life in that one moment. I am in awe…

  54. I’m amazed each and every time by how you use light in your photos. Bravo!!

  55. Reblogged this on Paranóias and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  56. Beautiful, moving images as always.

  57. […] Stronger by weakness, wiser men become As they draw near to their eternal home. Leaving the old, both worlds at once they view That stand upon the threshold of the new. – Edmund Waller Photography by Steve McCurry. […]

  58. Very Amazing pictures!!

  59. Amazing series of portraits. Love the last one, of the man with the gun, where the focus is not on his eyes but on the gun. Remarkable!

  60. I never tire of looking at your photos.

  61. “Old is gold” is a saying for material things mostly but one can apply the same idea on the “elderly” people.

  62. […] Maqbool Fida Husain, in his studio Mumbai, India Stronger by weakness, wiser men become As they draw near to their eternal home. Leaving the old, both worlds at once they view That stand upon the …  […]

  63. Anonymous Says:

    Beautiful photos as always

  64. Richard Thorn Says:

    As always the empathy with people shines through.

  65. As always your art is beautiful and inspirational. May it lead us all into a graceful old age.

  66. “Afghanistan Guy” look like you….

    anyway amazing photos…

  67. I loved the pictures. So sensitive!!!!

  68. This is what I have to look forward to one way or another…..these images are just beautiful…..especially the ones looking into their souls….thanks again and namaste Trees

  69. Steven,
    In my book you are the Worlds “BEST”!

  70. augustine yo Says:

    These pictures and the wise words are soo amazing, gorgeous.Look them make me have motivation to learn photography, but it is so difficult, work of art, takes time.I have no many time ,talent to do it
    Steve you are so fortune, lucky have talent,time, opportuniy to do ,take so wonderful pictures.God bless u

  71. Sharon Furner Says:

    Thank you for sharing these beautiful faces and spirits. Truly uplifting.

  72. The brilliance of aging! I think my favorite is the image from Sri Lanka…so often when living to an old age many loves are lost and the cemetery is a place frequently visited out of necessity or obligation. Magnificent images Steve – once again! Thanks for sharing so many beautiful faces of the wide world. Blessings, Robyn

  73. Anonymous Says:

    Paraguay! great

  74. it’s awesome!!!!

  75. Thank you once again for your wonderful photographs and your brilliant choice of memorable quotes.

  76. You have captured the beauty of aging. Too many people think that “old” people are wrinkled and ugly, But as I have gotten older, I appreciate the wisdom and experience in every wrinkle and grey hair. Thank you for these beautiful portraits.

  77. Reblogueó esto en LeoAr Photography / Lex Ariasy comentado:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  78. Rosalie Nilson Says:

    Brilliant images, wonderful quotes! Rosalie

    From: Steve McCurry’s Blog Reply-To: Steve McCurry’s Blog Date: Wednesday, 20 November 2013 9:36 AM To: Rosalie Nilson Subject: [New post] Threshold of the New

    WordPress.com stevemccurry posted: ” Maqbool Fida Husain, in his studio Mumbai, India Stronger by weakness, wiser men become As they draw near to their eternal home. Leaving the old, both worlds at once they view That stand upon the threshold of the new. – Edmund Waller Turk”

  79. As I am approaching 60 ,I find myself more and more enchanted and enamored with images of older people. Especially unique and interesting looking ones. I love all of your work and look forward to your posts. This has been one of my favorites.
    Jude

  80. Stunning images with very insightful quotes. Thank you.

    Jutta Maue-Kay

  81. Carol Nelson Says:

    stunning photos and beautiful words to match

  82. Thank you so much for illustrating an unusual concept for US culture…that old age is not a “problem”!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,558 other followers

