One Step at a Time

One step at a time is good walking.
- Chinese proverb

INDIA-10640India

Walking shares with making and working that
crucial element of engagement of the body and the mind with the world,
of knowing the world through the body and the body through the world.
- Rebecca Solnit, Wanderlust: A History of Walking

ITALY-10077Italy

UnitedKingdom-10018_blogUnited Kingdom

There is nothing like walking to get the feel of a country. 
A fine landscape is like a piece of music; it must be taken at the right tempo. 
- Paul Scott Mowrer

NEPAL-10029NF2Nepal

TIBET-10253NF2Tibet

FRANCE-10072France

 Solvitur ambulando
(To solve a problem, walk around)
- St. Jerome

YEMEN-10117, Yemen, 04/1997Yemen

AFGHN-12960Afghanistan

How often have I had this longing for an infinite walk – of going unimpeded,
until the movement of my body as I walk fell into the flight of
streets under my feet – 
until I in my body and the world in its
skin of earth were blended into a single act of knowing.

- Alfred Kazin, The Open Street

BANGLADESH-10002Bangladesh

01585_20_esFrance

CAMBODIA-10089Cambodia

In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks.
- John Muir

ITALY-10486Italy

All truly great thoughts are conceived by walking.
- Friedrich Nietzche

01006_13_blogItaly

If you are seeking creative ideas, go out walking
Angels whisper to those who walk
- Raymond Inmon

DSC_3176_esBrazil

IRELAND-10001 Ireland

 Above all, do not lose your desire to walk.
Every day I walk myself into a state of well-being …
I have walked myself into my best thoughts,
and I know of no thought so burdensome that
one cannot walk away from it.
- Soren Kierkegaard

BURMA-10564 Burma

Walking is a man’s best medicine.
-Hippocrates

BURMA-10091NFBurma

With beauty before me, may I walk
With beauty behind me, may I walk
With beauty above me, may I walk
With beauty below me, may I walk
With beauty all around me, may I walk
Wandering on the trail of beauty, may I walk
Navajo: Walking Meditation

FRANCE-10056, Lourdes, France, 1988 France

  Walking is the great adventure,
the first meditation, a practice of heartiness and
soul primary to humankind.
Walking is the exact balance between spirit and humility.
- Gary Snyder

BRAZIL-10065Rio de Janeiro,Brazil

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

81 Responses to “One Step at a Time”

  1. Thanks for beautiful photos… I wish I could go…

  2. it’s really beautiful

  3. Reblogged this on MC-photography and commented:
    “Caminantes no hay caminos hay que caminar”
    thanks Steve Mc Curry!

  4. Tito Mariátegui Says:

    Mr Mccurry, Thanks a bunch for sharing this series of wonderful and inspiring moments. What a pleasure to watch your work. Muchas Gracias, Greetings from Perú!

  5. I love the photo of India, the First One.

  6. Wimonlack Blom-Boonvises Says:

    Thank you for beautiful pictures. Tian

  7. So appreciate the concept and the wondrous photos!!

  8. Reblogged this on Miki López and commented:
    Steve McCurry, siempre un referente

  9. I’m walking from picture to picture and I like it ;-)
    Werner

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/buhk-weltenbummler/

  10. Beautiful! The last one, from Rio it’s extraordinary!

  11. Your are such a great photographer and i really glad that i found your blog.

  12. yu inkol Says:

    FANTSTIC WORKING……

  13. Maestose foto…
    passo dopo passo, verso la Meta Finale!
    Serenità :-) claudine

  14. Gracias Stive , por darle felicidad a mis retinas . Te amo !!!!!

  15. Absolutely stunning photos, Steve!

  16. Reblogged this on Giai01's Blog and commented:
    xem

  17. Für einen Tag Ihre Augen – Für einen Tag ihre Kamera!
    Tief berührend – Danke für die AUGENblicke!

  18. Ana Hollanda Cavalcanti Says:

    It’s always a pleasure to admire your pictures and read your quotes! Thank you

  19. Ingmar Hindenes Says:

    Amazing as always. Really great photography.

  20. […] dem großartigen Beitrag von Steve McCurry zum Thema One Step at a Time wünsche ich allen einen schönen […]

  21. I really really get a lot from your images….thank you from my heart

  22. Did I mention you are an amazing photographer? I love seeing this type of work. Glad I found you.

  23. […] why i reblogged his latest post, “One Step at a Time” earlier […]

  24. Reblogged this on magpie learner and commented:
    Yesterday, it was finally warm enough again for me to walk to work. Could spring finally be here, she said, with tremulous hope? And then this morning, I ran across this joyous Steve McCurry tribute to walking. Please enjoy the images and words. Better still, get out and go for a walk yourself!

  25. I can only find the same words as before about your photos. They are fantastic, perfect composed, beautiful, thoughtful ….. Photos and inspiration for the rest of us are nowhere found better than here.
    As I have troubles finding words to describe what i think looking at your photos, I have decided to reblog this post in case a few of my readers do not know this blog. ( http://truels.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/one-step-at-a-time/ )

  26. Reblogged this on Truels' Blog.

  27. lifelifedeathdeath Says:

    Really good pictures!

  28. Reblogged this on steve2013dotnet and commented:
    What an amazing photographer.

  29. Amazing picture!!!!

  30. Thank you for these photos and quotes. I love to walk. So happy you chose this theme.

  31. Beautiful as always, tnx.

  32. Really some great collection form you Steve !

  33. serialphotographer Says:

    A stunning collection and perfect narrative

  34. Delightful and inspiring as always. Thank you.

  35. Reblogged this on Kyle Cruz and commented:
    It’s better to get where you want to be one step at a time, than to never get there because you dreaded having to take so many steps.

  36. I’ve finally visited a lot of places I always wanted to see. Thanks for taking me along Steve. You have a new follower here in Kentucky. I sure hope we do a lot more traveling together.

  37. Anonymous Says:

    Very inspiring.

  38. very inspiring post! thank you!

  39. Reblogged this on Confessions Of A Christian Liberal and commented:
    Truer words cannot be spoken; all we can do in this world is take things one step at a time regardless of who or what we are.

  40. Reblogged this on The Cake Revolution and commented:
    amazing as always

  41. Beautiful and inspiring. I’ve been on the road for 6 months and I can wholeheartedly say I feel the truth in every one! Thank you ;-)

  42. Ulla Ashika Haug Says:

    Great pictures, thank you so much for sharing them, Steve and thanks for the insightful texts. Just today I felt I am a nomad, that´s when i am happy. So your pictures come at a most receptive time!! Yours Ulla Ashika Haug

  43. Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    This photography is awesome. I’m traveling … to far away places!! Thank you!!

  44. Magnificent captures. Loved the monks picture from Cambodia.

    http://www.talesofanomad.com

  45. Reblogged this on Wonder and Beauty and commented:
    Go for a walk. It always helps.

  46. Àngel la Torre Says:

    Mr. McCurry’s his monographs are extraordinary. Thanks for sharing.

  47. Reblogged this on Neverending1's Blog and commented:
    I walk a lot, so I love these pictures. I especially like the man in Nepal. That’s kind of what I look like sometimes.

  48. Reblogged this on Oyia Brown and commented:
    Most wonderful pictures! Thank you.

  49. Daniel Madrid Says:

    Man, you are the best!

  50. Hadassah Miller Tzadok Says:

    Truly stunning a real visual delight! Hadassah Miller Tzadok

  51. A wonderful post. Walking is sublime.

  52. Have reblogged because I reckon this is one of the best posts I’ve seen recently. Inspirational.

  53. What else can I say apart from “Thank you for sharing these photos and quotations”. They are something very special! Anna

  54. profound and delightful.

  55. ALBERT WAGNER Says:

    I ENJOYED THIS POST VERY MUCH AS I AM A WALKER!

  56. Reblogged this on PGS – The Way and commented:
    How appropriate for this blog!!

  57. cecilia Says:

    Thank you Steve, To me walking is to dance it enters your heart and soul and allows you to think clearly. And the fact you have showed us all how the people on this Planet know how to walk and understand why, gives our Children a better future..As I said in my thoughts about dance; Their is a good chance for unity within all people on this Earth, which in my belief could be encouraged by you continuing with work from your heart .Thank you. Cecilia.

  58. Beautiful pictures! I particularly love the one in Italy with the shadow of the horse and rider on the hay bale. :-)

  59. Serie fantastica, piccolo giro del mondo grazie alle tue foto!!

  60. Thank you for the reminder to walk.

  61. Thank you for the wonderful inspiration Steve! Beautiful as usual (and how glorious that beauty is usual), and inspiring and necessary for me today. You bring joy to so many.

  62. Wonderful series!

  63. Anonymous Says:

    This post is realy a lot of emotional! Thank you

  64. Brilliant photos and message. Thank you so much.

  65. Bernie DeKoven Says:

    Another beautiful collection, Steve. I recently published a post about this wonderful, and notably funny book on walking. Your post was the perfect complement. I added a comment pointing to it. http://www.aplayfulpath.com/twalk/

    Bernie De Koven

    A Playful Path

    Skype: berniedekoven @berniedekoven plus.google.com/+BernieDeKoven/

    915 Lesley Ave Indianapolis, IN 46219 317 721-9227

    > >

  66. A wonderful walking!!! Superb pictures!!

  67. Superb. Loved the squiggles on the water in Venice…

  68. You are truly a great photographer!

    • Just wonderful!!!! not easy to say which I liked best!!!!Oh may be that from Ireland? because it is something completely different

  69. Yet another beautiful series, Steve. I really love the Burma, Brazil and Cambodia shots.

  70. Impresionantes ere el n1 felicidades

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26,563 other followers

