Step by Step

Walking . . . is how the body measures itself against the earth.
- Rebecca Solnit, Wanderlust: A History of Walking

USA-10962New York

PARAGUAY-10040Paraguay

PAKISTAN-10157Pakistan

INDIA-10870India

Solvitur ambulando
(To solve a problem, walk around)
- St. Jerome

BANGLADESH-10007Bangladesh


AFGHN-10154Afghanistan

NEPAL-10016 (1)Nepal

TIBET-10210Tibet

There is nothing like walking to get the feel of a country. 
A fine landscape is like a piece of music;
it must be taken at the right tempo. 

- Paul Scott Mowrer

VIETNAM-10013Vietnam

ITALY-10445NF3Italy

BRAZIL-10080Brazil

Architecture limits where one can walk,
but the walker invents other ways to go.
– Rebecca Solnit

YUGOSLAVIA-10045, 00043_11; Zagreb, Croatia; 1989,Croatia

 

THAILAND-10075Thailand

In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks.
- John Muir

HazarasAfghanistan

CAMBODIA-10120Cambodia

All truly great thoughts are conceived by walking.
- Friedrich Nietzsche

ETHIOPIA-10114Ethiopia

MOROCCO-10048Morocco

My father considered a walk among the mountains
as the equivalent of churchgoing.

- Aldous Huxley


AFGHN-12960Afghanistan

  Walking is the great adventure,
the first meditation, a practice of heartiness and
soul primary to humankind.
Walking is the exact balance between spirit and humility.
- Gary Snyder

ITALY-10077Italy

Please follow us on Instagram
http://instagram.com/stevemccurryofficial/

Exhibitions

Leica Gallery
Salzburg, Austria
August 7  – September 27, 2014

The Anna Lamar Switzer Gallery
Pensacola State College

Pensacola, Florida
August 18 – December 12, 2014

71 Responses to “Step by Step”

  1. Wonderful photos and sentiments. Walking blows away the cobwebs and the blues.

  2. Reblogged this on THE BARDO GROUP and commented:
    Taking life as it comes: One Step at A Time with award-winning National Geographic photographer, Steve McCurry.

  3. Reblogged this on Ideas_R_Bulletproof and commented:
    some great examples of the use of anticipation in photography…. none other than the great Steve McCurry….

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I love your blog..

  5. Reblogged this on Irenadawn and commented:
    Each time I view a photo album of McCurry’s Brilliant Stories in Film , I must read each book over and over as you would cherish your favorite novel. A novel you must read often because you find surprises in each new read that makes you love the tale more … I feel blessed.

  6. My heart beats in time with the flickering of my eyes blinking whenever I look at your work. It s as though I am reading a book I love over and over. Each time I find something different in the story. ~ I am blessed…

  7. Excellent usage of color & composition.

  8. Reblogged this on Sights, Sounds & Senses and commented:
    Steve McCurry’s photography from around the world is always a pleasure to see. A picture can say a thousand words, and his work sums this up perfectly.

  9. Anni Bjerke Says:

    Oh.My.Goodness. These pictures are exquisite.  I enjoyed each and every one of them.

    I can’t wait for your next installment!

    God bless!

    AB

    p.s.  The quotes were perfect!

  10. j.MAZZELLA Says:

    Beautiful ! really beautiful !

  11. Argentina Gutierrez Says:

    GRACIAS STEVE. LOVE YOU

  12. Watched a 20 min montage of your photo’s and interviews on YouTube yesterday and it was breathtaking. As always, your images are some of the best i encounter, they will truly stand the test of time

  13. A big inspiration…. “http://jackworldsapart.wordpress.com/2014/08/16/on-the-street-mumbaiindia/”

  14. Anonymous Says:

    I like your works very much.
    They are much best and fun.

  15. Reblogged this on My Blog and commented:
    Just brilliant pictures!

  16. Impresionantes estas imágenes. Viajar por el mundo de la mano de un artista.

  17. Vaya fotos. Impresionantes. Es como viajar por todos esos países, pero asesorados por una mirada experta que nos dice adónde hay que poner la atención.

  18. Reblogged this on Neverending1's Blog and commented:
    Take the day off and enjoy the beautiful pictures! And go for a walk!

  19. My favorite form of exercise and I feel so good afterwards! Beautiful shots!

  20. This is great. Walking soothes the mind…..rests it so answers can arise.

  21. inahuppers Says:

    Now that I could just simply write a hello in the beginning, I am thinking too much..Hello then Steve. I am very happy to follow your works, as I have known them the first time through a portrait book of yours. At that time I did not know anything about your bio. And just loved the strong colourful and vivid portraits. They were since then always a good guidance for my portrait works. I am sending you kind greetings from India, where I am living since March. Because I know your deep interest and connection with this country.
    Thank you for sharing your eye with the world!
    Ina

  22. Your boots were made for walking….some wonderful , thought provoking phots in this series.

  23. Sónia Pinheiro Says:

    Please keep walking, and taking amazing photos that make us fly…

  24. Shanti Giri Says:

    OMMMMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmSteve,walking with awareness of breathe,carridge ,bare feet fills one with such ONESS,that all becomes spriritualized,a unification takes place,the walk becomes a prayer.i walk everywhere so that the most mundane ,every day chores,shopping etc …becomes a thankfull journey.
    LOVE that you see the beautitude in all and shareing OM

  25. Great shots – I have Untold – a great piece of work

  26. Every single photo is just beautiful :-)

  27. Love it! All of them!
    The text reminds me of my “pilgrimage” to Santiago de Compostela in Spain, known as “El camino”.
    They all add up to my experience during that journey…

  28. Reblogged this on HANNASWALK.

  29. Steve,
    So much told without a single word…
    I am speechless. Amazing…. You are a source of inspiration for my Photography

  30. Apogee of Beauty!

  31. I go through and I love the way how it done! Keep it up!

  32. Brilliant.
    Such wonderful (and sometimes surprising) images.
    I find your compositions so inspiring and creative.

  33. Very Cool!
    -Rita Leaders Bowling Green

  34. fantastic series – walking is an integral part of our everyday routine !

  35. Reblogged this on Giai01's Blog and commented:
    xem

  36. Sometimes I need to explore more moment to walk across the world to know where those photos taken. I always impressed with your photos Mr. McCurry.

  37. Susan Reich Says:

    Hello Steve: We have never met and probably never will. But, I always feel as if I know you after having the privilege of being able to see your photographs. Thank you!
    Susan

  38. I always look froward to your blog posts and this one has much to admire

  39. Golda Kocubej Soriano Says:

    assim caminha a humanidade

  40. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez Says:

    These images and quotes are stunning. <3

  41. Inspiring set, as always. Thank you, Steve.

  42. I love your work :)

  43. amazing photography and organization! It makes me think about New York City ( my city). People here use walking as the main form of transportation. Yes, we have taxis, and buses, and the subway ; however, I believe that it is the people walking across the island that gives the city its heartbeat. People from all around the globe have walked on our tiny island and I believe your photo essay explains it so well. Congrats!

  44. Excellent series; all wonderful; special shots!

  45. Rachael Charmley Says:

    Reblogged this on Changing Skin and other stories.

  46. Walking has always been close to my heart. Thank you for sharing this.

  47. Мастер , есть мастер …

  48. I certainly agree with all the quotes. The pictures are wonderful as always. Thank you.

  49. Cecilia Says:

    Walking renews the soul in every aspect. We experience humility and compassion when we walk with those in more need than our selves. This beautiful planet in all it’s glory brings back in to perspective what is the riches possession that belongs to us all. Thank you Steve for sharing your amazing talent.

  50. Reblogged this on Caixa Negra and commented:
    Já nāo há palavras … O génio de McCurry é esmagador.

  51. Thomas Seiler Says:

    as a shoemaker i like the lady with the coach shoe picture…!

    greetings Thomas

  52. Thomas Seiler Says:

    Hi Steve,

    thank for your inspiration at the workshop at Salzburg !

    travel save !

    Thomas

    PS.: enjoy the pen

  53. Your photographs are beautiful, Steve.

  54. Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    These photographs are impressive & so expressive!!

  55. Yes…we are going step by step in our life.!
    It’s really wonderful images of the life around the world
    Thank photographer Steve McCurry… share its.

  56. MAGNIFICENT! Take a bow.
    Dina

  57. Steve, When you come to Chile in South America is welcome here…

  58. Reblogged this on PGS – The Way and commented:
    How appropriate this one for a Camino blog! Enjoy!!

  59. As always, a beautiful, thought-provoking photo essay. Thank you for sharing. I really love the first photo.

  60. Great serie of photo’s!

  61. lucylorca Says:

    Xxxx✨✨✨✨

    >

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,415 other followers

